Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 26 April 2009
It serves as a good and short introduction to RF, for people with no previous experience. Does not go into depth in any of the topics described but gives a good overview. Easily read and lots of examples.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
This book is quite large (bigger than A4 sized paper) and so packs quite a lot of information in 240 pages. Sure there are more detailed books, but anyone who reads this book would then be well prepared to research any topic in greater detail.
This book has a lot of 'worked examples' where the author shows the steps (calculations) to reach a given design. This means that it is easy to adapt the design, i.e. this book is very practical.
Furthermore the author is not trying to complicate things, and actually writes in plain language, which helps greatly.

The book also has quite a few tables to help design filters without software (well, it is useful to get the ballpark or for confirmation that you're on the right track) and also explains the Smith chart very well.

The last few sections of the book describe some of the design and simulation tools that are available, which is great to let us know how engineers design for RF.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
The book is hugely informative, fills in many technical points that are mostly a secret in the RF comm's business for circuit design. For any Radio Amateur or Radio Ham as myself, it is a book to have for the shelf and to both refernce and learn from, even if it is just a check up ones own knowledge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2017
Sadly I didn't find the book this book as useful as the other reviewers. It starts basic enough with the inductance of a piece of wire, but even this is confusing as wire diameter is given in mills (thousandths of an inch) and all the formulae use cms. After this it just got confusing, not the authors fault but my poor maths, and Smith charts always make my head spin. I spent many years in the electronics industry and hold a ham licence. Also I think I have a reasonable practical knowledge of electronics, so I believe you need to be a good to better than average ham to gain from this book, it's not aimed at the likes of me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
Perfect for anyone who wants to understand RF circuit design without all the heavy lifting maths that is usually associated to it.
It's a very good book that will never leave your desk side for too long.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
This is an excellent book for anyone studying or interested in RF engineering, it covers antennas,amplifiers,filters an much more. The only gripe I have with this book is it does not cover electromagnetism or maxwell's equations but other than that it is an excellent book and will be useful to physics and engineering students
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
IMPORTANT: THIS BOOK DOES NOT USE SI UNITS!

Other than that; the book makes use of many great examples and detailed explanations, but the equations are not applicable. I am sorry to say that it will not find its way to my bookshelf for this single reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2017
All the stuff I missed when I was at university. The book looks beautifully laid out, is very clear. It appears to be very well thought out, step by step processes to follow to design particular types of RF circuit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
Very good. But remember this is an academic book. I use it for reference at work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)