Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£25.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2001
Newness Mechanical Engineers Pockect Book gives a great insight into the world of engineering and the standards that control the every day lives of engineers throughout the world. The book gives great detail over such area as thread standards, bolt standards, CNC compputing language standards amongst other things. The book comes in an easy to use format with clearly readable tables that don't take hours to decipher. A great book for anyone looking at doing higher qualifications in Mechanical Engineering or if you've just got interest.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
I am constantly searching for a single, compact reference book that covers the majority of the information that I need in day-to-day work. I haven't found one yet and probably never will. This book is very comprehensive (at 3.5 cm thick it would need a very big "pocket") and appears to have chosen to concentrate on more practical information like standard fasteners, power transmission components, etc, and on the specification of these - making it useful for detail design, for instance. The section on the theoretical and mathematical underpinnings of engineering is relatively short, so it is of less use in the early stages of realising your latest brainchild. Like every engineer's reference book I have seen, it is also frustratingly inconsistent in the level of detail afforded to different topics.

Having said all that though, it's far better than many other similar books I've looked at, is based on UK/European standards and represents good value for money compared to trying to claw some of the information contained in it from the BSI at exorbitant prices. If you were to combine this with more a more theoretical reference book, you'd probably have the best "pocket" reference library you could manage with what's currently available.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Excellent one stop resource for information to help in finding solutions to mechanical problems, especially for those who are not especially mechanically minded, but at the same time giving the mechanical engineer correct and concise information.

A very useful book for the engineers shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
For years, my main reference book in English was "Machinery's Handbook", an American publication. The other being "Tabellenbuch Metall", a German publication. Both of which are excellent. It is good to see a comprehensive handbook available that covers a wide range of topics relating to mechanical engineering. Though it is a little large to be called a "Pocket Book", it is nicely set out. The data/information is to the point and clearly explained. I would recommend this book "Mechanical Engineer's Pocket Book" as your mainstay source of information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Fanatasic little book. Really great to have in your desk for when you need a quick formula or a refresher on some particular aspects of mechanical engineer. As a recent graduate in my first year of work this has been the most useful book out everything I've used.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Essentially this is the very large Zeus table. It has just about every general engineering mathematical equation you would need, geometric concepts and formulas in abundance.

It is also a fantastic reference book for things as diverse as fittings to thread sizes to beam strengths. To those of us who have gently aged to the point where our original education is something in the dim past, this book acts as a wonderful refresher if you are a mechanical engineer of any type, from the hobbyist to the professional.

One thing to note. This might be called a pocket book but it certainly would not fit in any pocket in any trousers I own.

Overall this should be on the shelf of anyone involved in mechanical engineering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
You'll need big pockets for this - It's compact, but lots of pages, so very thick. Extremely comprehensive, and already being used on a BTEC Level 3 Engineering course, the depth of information will make sure that this "pocket" book will be used for many years to come in my workshop.

There are other engineer's pocket books out there, they certainly contain the obvious information that's commonly used, but at little difference in the price, you get a lot more book for your money, and a lot more technical information. Look at the index on the book preview to see all the different aspects that the book covers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
This is a thick little book, but small enough (about 7 by 5 by 2inches?) to fit handily on top of other books, in a little draw or somewhere to hand. Covering a multitude of subjects from SI units, trigonometry, forces, levers, moments, material properties, motion, power transmission and a comprehensive list of bolts threads and other info, this little book does have probably all the basics and more for the learning/learned engineer.

Containing a variety of simplified diagrams and brief explanations, there aren't massive sections of text to get lost in, even if there is a few good pages to get you started at the beginning of a topic to explain the subject matter.

As someone just starting out, this was great for me, but I can imagine it would still be a good reference guide for those in the industry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Very handy little book, packed with all the information and formulas needed by engineers in everyday problem solving and design.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
I use this all the time and rarely have to refer to other books for the basic engineering info. I would not hesitate to recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)