Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£48.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2001
So why only 4 stars? My only complaint is that the diagnostic advice is not as comprehensive as I expected. Even so, this book provides a wealth of practical advice which is suitable for beginners and the more experienced. Well done, sir!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
The handbook contains much useful information, including the reference section at the back, and there is much to recommend it.

However, the structure and aim of the book are rather haphazard. If aimed at the novice, then the advice that you "only" need learn 50 or so American valves is misplaced, but if aimed at the experienced repairer, then they would not need to be talked through Ohm's Law. To be referred to as a repair handbook, I think there should be more practical information, such as how to dismantle a radio, clean the chassis, polish the case, etc.

I personally found the writer's tone off-putting in places, for example:
"It has been the writer's ill-fortune to have read in recent years a tremendous amount of nonsense written by ill-informed persons..."
"The writer has seen a great deal of rubbish expounded by know-all alarmists..."

It is perhaps nitpicking, but he misquotes Sherlock Holmes, stating that "when all the possible solutions have been investigated without result the answer must lie with the impossible" rather than "...when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth." Sherlock Holmes's original statement made perfect logical sense, whereas the misquoted version does not.

I would regard it as an interesting and invaluable addition to a radio repairer's bookshelf, but I just don't think it is comprehensive enough to be properly regarded as a repair handbook. In this regard, I much prefer Tony Thompson's books, which are very practical and better presented.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2002
I have rarely read a book with so much information per £cost. All perfectly understandable for people with no previous experience, but still lots for those with a good knowledge of valves. If you are wondering which book to buy on this subject, you have my assurance that this book "Does what says on the cover"!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
At last a 'how to repair radio' book that caters for most levels of competence, and has all the relevant data to hand. I wish I had had this book years ago - it would have saved some worthy radios from the scrapheap. I can't praise this book highly enough.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
a good technical guide with good information and tips. Could contain more information and detail but still one which I will keep on the work bench and will be well used.
a bit too pricey hence the 4 star and not 5.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
I found this book of great value to me easy to read and so easy to understand and many thanks for your greatservice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
the bible of valve radio repairs !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
hello,just bought the book for some guidance on repairing a recent purchase of a valve radio,i had done some of this work before and used to have a very old repair book for guidance.this book i bought here i expected to have some theory and a good level of practical advice.sadly whilst the first mentioned theory was comprehensive the amount of practical hands on advice is dismal.also the author goes away on tangents of specific random projects which are not at all useful to the general repairer except for someone dedicated to the exact project.well while some people may indeed find it good on theory for my particular practical work i found it highly dissapointing.sorry i bought it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
an excellent book and a most useful guide to have if your into restoring old valve radios, covers all sections of this hobby, well recomended, 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
This was a present for my husband who has restored a vintage radio. He has found it a very helpful and informative book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)