Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
4
The Accursed: Book 1 in Series (Roman Chronicles)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 10 August 2013
A horror mystery set in Classical Rome. I admit that I skated over some of the horror scenes, because I'm squeamish; but the placing of very real people in Ancient Rome was appealing, and kept me reading.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 11 January 2015
Bought ( as a remaindered book ) since I read some early Anton Gill novels set in Ancient Egypt.

Writing very good, atmosphere of Ancient Rome created well, but what was put across as a Roman mystery/crime novel ( " for fans of Lindsay Davies and R S Downie" according to the publisher ) transformed into a torrid-sex/horror/vampyre novel about halfway through, and managed to turn me off completely.

If you like such ' horror' novels , you'll probably enjoy this, but if not if you enjoy the more traditional detective story in the style of Lindsay Davies and her Falco character, then this is most likely not to your tastes.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 20 June 2013
This horror-thriller from Antony Cutler is quite a read. Taking as his starting-point the decadence and corruption of Nero's Rome, he weaves a story featuring the persecution of the Christians by Nero's henchmen and the fate of ordinary Roman citizens at the hands - or claws - of a bevy of creatures which make vampires look like the Smurfs. Graphically violent, and featuring scenes of very explicit sex, this is not a book for the faint-hearted; but it is a stunning bit of story-telling and an absolutely guaranteed page-turner. But don't take my word for it, see for yourself!
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 27 June 2013
This is a wonderful story of ancient Rome, part detective thriller, part horror story, and overall highly original. The pace and the overall sense of terrible tension and darkness make this a real page-turner, but it's counterbalanced by the most unusual and original love story. Be warned, however: the descriptions of sex and violence are extremely graphic.
|0Comment|Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here