Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Unleash The Night (The Dark-Hunter World)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 March 2014
What a glorious continuation of this series. Wren has been mentioned in previous books, as one of the may were-beasts at the New Orleans Sanctuary. But this is his tale, and what a tail he has. A hybrid were-tiger, were-leopard wren has never fit in anywhere. Even at the Sanctuary they barely tolerate him.

Maggie is the daughter of a senator, living in her father's shadow and scare to put a toe out if line in case it reflects badly on him. The last thing she needs is a troublemaker in her life ... which is what Wren and her father both believe Wren is. But Maggie has different ideas.

When Wren is accused of a crime he didn't commit and is sentences to death it's a life and death race to find the proof they need to keep him alive. And doesn't that come with one or two little shocks.

My only niggle with this book (but it's not big enough to lose a star) is the insinuation all the way through this book that Maggie's mother, who took her own life, may have had some sort of connection with the were world. But it's never fully explored.

Every time I read a new book in the Dark Hunter series I can't believe how much I enjoy it as it becomes my new favourite. It's a true testament to SK's consistent skill in writing about this wonderful fantasy world she's created. Unleash the Night is no exception! I absolutely loved it, and am now looking forward to Dark Side of the Moon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
3 favourite is Vane. Then back to the futuristic books you write SO well. Thank you Sherrilyn, you are a brilliant writer. They'd make grit films as long as they don't turn out like Kelley Armstrong's series, Bitten. Rubbish.I loved the books. Please don't make the same mistakes. Keep writing, please. Xxxxxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Book was in lovely condition and I loved the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Love the Dark hunter world series and all the hunky gods,dark hunters and all that goes with it !!!. Sets the imagination afire as well as the libido !!!! This lady knows her Greek history and mythology really well. Like she has lived it herself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Ace series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
Wren is a dangerous Katagaria mix of tiger and leopard. He's feral and vicious. However, our wild cat is beautifully gentle with Maggie, a Senator's daughter and a human. There are plots to bring Wren down and his involvement with a high profile human is seen as a threat to the Katagaria hidden state. The two of them have to fight hard to stay together. Kenyon's usual quick wit, amazing imagination and touching romantic flare make this book a great read.
I have read all of Kenyon's wonderful previous books, and have been waiting impatiently for this one to come out. Luckily for me, she did not disappoint. As soon as I got it, I dropped everything to read it. I could not put it down until the end. I liked it enough to read it again a couple of days afterwards at a more sedate pace.
We learn more about the intriguing Savitar in this book, and our favourite wolves are on the scene, too. I love the way Kenyon keeps her old characters alive and we can keep tabs on how they're doing. If you've never read a Kenyon book before, they are all standalone, but you'll get the best of them if you read them in order. Her website will give you the best order. I think that once you've read one of her books, you'll probably do what I did and just order her back catalogue from Amazon almost straight away!
If you're wondering why I did not give the book 5 stars, it's because though the book is wonderful, it did not make a big emotional impact on me. Although touching, exciting and incredibly sweet, it lacked the depth of a truly great romantic novel.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2006
Ms. Kenyon’s latest “Dark-Hunter” installment is a story about the Were-hunter Wren. Although this was not my favorite in this series…it was still an entertaining read that gives the reader a little more information regarding this part of the legends. We get too know a few more characters that have already been introduced to in previous books.
Wren Tigarian was orphaned as a small cub. He has lived his life at “Sanctuary” and this has been a safe if somewhat uncomfortable existence. He is a loner by nature this were-hunter has no family to keep him safe and no one to mentor him. His only friend Nick is now dead. Working and sleeping is basically the extent of his existence until one night he sees Marguerite D’Abuert Goudeau. This lady brings out the beast in him while at the same time gentling him. But he can’t mate with her since she is human and despite the fact he tries to stay away from her…he keeps being drawn back to her goodness and loving nature. But someone thinks this is dangerous and sets about to eliminate Wren but first they are going to have to get through Maggie.
Maggie is the daughter of a Senator. Her life is spent trying to stay out of the limelight and not doing anything to embarrass her father’s career. But, when she meets Wren for the first time she is drawn to this shy man. When he saves her life from a mugger and gets wounded in the process she feels a connection that will not lessen. But, will these two people find a chance to be happy or will the hunters that are after Wren get to them first?
This was an entertaining read. This read centered more on Sanctuary and the different animal clans that make up the were-hunter legends. We are introduced to another “mystical” man named Savitar and just who and what he is to the Dark-Hunters has not yet been determined. Ms. Kenyon has done a fair job in keeping her series fresh and therefore keeping her loyal readers entertained.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 January 2006
Wren Tigarian is an abomination, his mixed parentage of white tiger and snow leopard making him an outcast of both Katagari tribes. When his parents are brutally killed, Wren is raised in Santuary under the watchful eye of the Peltier family, shape shifting bears. Santuary may house some unusual beings; however all are aware to tread carefully around Wren. Afraid of what he may do in a rage, Wren keeps to himself, hiding in the background to avoid notice until he meets Marguerite Goudeau (aka Maggie), the daughter of a prominent US senator. Strangely drawn to her, he finds himself leaving the shadows and becomes involved with Maggie. They fall in love; however Wren is aware that he will remain sterile. Although he cherishes Maggie and she returns his feelings, no fated mate brands mark their palms.

With rumours circulating, many of the Were-Hunters believe Wren may be more unstable than thought. Accused of the murder of his parents and risking possible exposure of the Were-Hunters by dating Maggie, Wren is marked for death and when confronted by hunters, he barely escapes. Wounded, he makes his way to Maggie's home and manages to cross her doorway before losing consciousness and reverting to his true form in front of her.

Maggie too finds herself hunted by those that stalk Wren. When he disappears trying to protect her, Maggie discovers unexpected help in the forms of Julian Alexander, Kyrian Hunter, Dante, Fang and Fury (welcome back boys!). It is agreed that the only possible solution for their plight is for Maggie and Wren to travel back in time to the night of his parents' murders in order to find out who really killed them.

"Unleash the Night" is yet another cracking read from SK; however this is the first Darkhunter novel that has made me pause and take a moment to comprehend the time travelling and resulting confusing future events. That said, I love a fast paced, passion filled adventure and this book offers everything I expect in a DH novel. "Unleash the Night" didn't include Acheron; however SK introduced us to a fabulous new character, Savitar, a powerful being rumoured to have trained Acheron himself in his powers. We also very quickly catch up with Nick Gautier and find out how he's coping with his death. I now eagerly await the next instalment due for publication in June 06; "Dark Side of the Moon", the story of Ravyn, both a Were-Hunter and a Dark-Hunter and his relationship with a journalist named Susan Michaels.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
This is one of the best book iv ever read and a simple must read and carry on through the series til you have read them all including the inside guide just look for:
THE DARK HUNTER SERIES
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 April 2011
I am officially hooked to the Dark Hunter World!

This is the ninth book in the series and features the Were Tigarian Wren and Marguerite D'Aubert Goudeau (Maggie). Wren is half snow leopard and half white tiger and is seen as an abomination by both the snow leopards and white tigers therefore since he was a child and his parents were killed he has lived at the Sanctuary. Maggie is a senators daughter and desperately misses her friend Nick Gaultier who has gone missing so she and her study group friends decide to go to his favourite bar (Sanctuary) to have a drink in his honour which is where she meets Wren. Wren does not know why but he is instantly drawn to her and after saving her from being mugged they end up together however the Katagaria do not like this and send assassins after him..... I did enjoy this book and there are some very very steamy moments in it but this wasn't my favourite.

It took me quite a while to get around to discovering this series as when you look up Sherrilyn Kenyon on Amazon and these books in list order it actually shows Dragonswan as being the first book (but it's not) and Dragonswan is never ever available to buy! As a girl who likes to read all books in a series and most definitely the first one in a series, thinking that I couldn't get the first book did actually stop me starting the series. I have only just discovered that the first book is actually Fantasy Lover, read this and have now proceeded to order the rest of the series:) Sherrilyn has now joined the ranks on Gena Showalter and Kresley Cole on my favourite authors list and I can't wait to read the next one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse