Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 February 2002
The best read I've had in a while. Julian is from ancient Macedonian. Who has been trapped in the pages of a book for the last two thousand years. His only release is to be used as a sex slave for a month and then sent back between the pages. Grace is the modern miss who aims to rescue him. This book is a keeper. I can't wait for the next book by Sherrilyn Kenyon. If you like something different in a romance give it a try.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2016
An Adult Fiction Series for Supernatural/Horror Fans that I highly recommend.

Love, Passion, Humour, Tragedy & Abuse Recovery.

Sherrilyn Kenyon is a fantastic writer & The Dark-Hunter Series expresses emotions of the lead characters (different in each book) & support characters so well within this fictional world & the genre of horror/supernatural that I can fully relate to them and usually am in tears or laughing out loud (trying not to when around family to avoid seeming insane)

All the books are inter-related plot & characters (Dark Hunter World) but can be read as individual supernatural love stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2015
Fantasy lover is about a young woman who is given a book by her best friend for her birthday. The book contains a gorgeous young solider cursed according to legend to only be released from the book when called upon to be a sex slave to the person who summons him. Which is exactly what Grace does one drunken night with her best friend selena. Grace however rejects his advances and falls in love with julian, from then it's a race against time to break the curse so that julian and grace can be together. Although I did enjoy this book and will defiantly be reading the next in the series I did feel that it lacked the quality of other series similar to this I.e. the immortals after dark by kresley cole. I am a huge fan of the immortals after dark one of the reasons being that there is a equal balance between the passionate scenes and the action and fighting that takes place. Where as fantasy lover had loads of passionate moments and hardly any action until the end which was over relatively quickly. However it does get the series of to a promising start and has defiantly interested me enough to start the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2012
For my univeristy course, I was asked to analyse a text that was similiar in some way to my own (known as market research). I'd read this before, having borrowed it from my local library, I thought it was s perfect opportunity to re-read it and then pick it apart *sobs*

What attracted me to the book was the Greek mythological element and I leapt on it.

To me, it's quite a short read, but that could be because I read fast and well. The second time around, I took it slow, savouring the delicious descriptions, and well planned characters. The plot moves along fast and I found it was even more... well... more-ish. The characters are deep, and I love Julian's backstory. There are moments where we think, it's a little 50 Shades of Grey, with Julian being a sex-slave, but it is nothing like that!

The sexual acts are not rough and hardcore, but passionate and leave your mouth watering and wanting more! Not just of Julian, but the dear Grace Alexander, our female heroine and sex therapist!

My only issue with the book, is that it is setting it up for the rest of the series, and we're fed a lot of information about the world of the Dark Hunters, followed by an entire cast of characters that could easily be lost - bearing in mind they're all Greek, near enough!

If you like your men sexy, your women brainy, and your sex steamy, pick this up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2012
Fantasy Lover is the story of a Greek God trapped in a book for eternity. He is released only for a month at a time to act as a love slave by the woman who summons him. When Grace calls him they both start to fall for one another but have to fight against the pain they both have from previous heartbreak and against Julian's curse.

The first part of Fantasy Lover was dreadful. It seemed as though it was written for teenagers but with added pornography. The 'love' scenes were cringe worthy; "he gently massaged her nub with his thumb. 'ooo...' Grace moaned". They veered towards something out of a tacky romance novel rather than a modern 'romantic fantasy'. Julian the love slave is supposed to have learnt English and about the modern world by listening in to the world from inside the book. His supposed reactions to the modern world were also unlikely and at times embarrassing "He watched strange boxlike things that must be automobiles move past". The story took a while to gain any momentum and the characters seemed very one dimensional.

Having said all that I persisted with the book (mainly because I hate to think that I have wasted my money!) and it did improve as it went on. As the reader learns about the tragic events of Julian's life and his harsh upbringing it is hard not to come to feel some sympathy for him. Grace was also more of a likeable character as she started to care for him and to show him the pain she had experienced in her life. The story was greatly improved by the reemergence of some of Julian's Greek God family with their powers and their family quarrels. The end even had a little action with a sweet outcome.

I bought Fantasy Lover hoping that Sherrilyn Kenyon might be a good alternative to JR Ward whose books I have exhausted. Sadly this book did not inspire me to seek out any of her other titles. There was no comparison to even Wards weaker books in the Black Dagger Brotherhood or Fallen Angels series. The second half was OK but the story, the characters and the style of writing was just not strong enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 50 REVIEWERon 8 April 2011
I am officially hooked to the Dark Hunter World!

It took me quite a while to get around to discovering this series as when you look up Sherrilyn Kenyon on Amazon and these books in list order it actually shows Dragonswan as being the first book (but it's not) and Dragonswan is never ever available to buy! As a girl who likes to read all books in a series and most definitely the first one in a series, thinking that I couldn't get the first book did actually stop me starting the series. I have only just discovered that the first book is actually Fantasy Lover, read this and have now proceeded to order the rest of the series:)

This is the first book in the series and features Grace Alexander who's friend is determined to help her find love and purchases an ancient book with a picture of a really, really good looking Macedonian man in it. Grace ends up saying the inscription (thinking it's daft) after having a few drinks and out pops her very own real live hunk - Julian. Julian of Macedonia is son to Aphrodite and after a lets say disagreement with this god brother is cursed to the book where he can only come out through the centuries when women bring him out to perform as their ... slave.

So begins a lovely tale of romance that I just couldn't put down, Sherrilyn manages to add that humour as well that makes a good book into a really good read. It is sort of similar to Gena Showalter's The Pleasure Slave (although I don't know who had the idea first) but is still different enough. Sherrilyn has now joined the ranks on Gena Showalter and Kresley Cole on my favourite authors list and I can't wait to read the next one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2013
Grace is a counsellor, specialising in helping clients overcome sexual problems, but her own love life is non-existent. She's unwilling to trust men, after experiencing rough sex with a man who pretended to love her, then boasted that he'd taken her virginity for a bet.

Julian is half-god, rejected by his Goddess mother and brutally raised to be a soldier by his Spartan father. When another God curses him, he's trapped within a scroll, only allowed to experience life whenever a woman summons him from the book... and then the curse compels him to pleasure his 'mistress' for a month before he's trapped inside the book again. He's spent thousands of years being treated as a sex object, or buried alive inside his prison.

When Grace accidentally summons him, she refuses to use Julian as callously as she herself was used. A powerful attraction springs up between them, but it's one they must fight if they are to break the curse. And even if they manage it, Julian will be sent back to his own time.

This novel is powerful, poignant and sexy. There are funny moments too, especially the opening scene with Grace and her friend Selena. Grace is celibate, Julian very sensual, yet both these wounded characters battle feelings of being 'unlovable' after being sexually 'used' and then cast away. Julian's confusion about being treated as a person for the first time is touching. It's fun watching him adapt to the modern world and fall in love with Grace, even though he believes he'll never be free from the curse. And it's lovely seeing Grace begin to believe she could be happy with a man.

This novel really gets you hoping for a happy ending. It's a great example of how fantasy/paranormal romances can be emotionally powerful as well as entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 May 2011
Julian has spent the last 2,000 years trapped inside a book suffering from endless loneliness and torment. The only time he is free is when a woman summons him but even then he becomes an unwilling slave for a month - the conditions of his curse ensuring that he must do whatever is requested of him by the person who called him. Grace is a sex therapist and listening to other people's problems, along with her own disastrous relationship history, has put her off men. When her friend gives her a book and promises her a month of passion if she follows the ritual inside she thinks it's a joke but fueled by alcohol she decides she has nothing to lose. She couldn't be more shocked when Julian appears naked in her front room but she has never been interested in a casual relationship. Julian is surprised to find he has been summoned by someone who doesn't seem to want him just for his body, as they get to know each other better they both start to develop feelings but can they find a way to break the curse before Julian's month is up?

I've heard people raving about the Dark Hunters series for a long time now, in fact I bought the first 4 books in the series about 2 years ago but still hadn't got around to giving them a try. Now I'm kicking myself for not picking this up sooner! If Fantasy Lover is any indication this is going to be a series I love and I can't wait to get started on the next book. I have to admit from the description I was expecting the story to be nothing but a sex fest (which would have been fine as I do love some well written smut occasionally) so I was pleasantly surprised to find that there was much more to the story. Don't worry if you're a smut lover though - there was enough of that to keep me happy too.

I really liked both of the main characters, Grace has been hurt in the past and hates the idea of just using Julian for his body and then letting him be sucked back into the book to wait for the next woman to call on him. Julian has suffered endlessly since he was cursed, alternating between loneliness inside the book and being used by women who are only interested in sex when he called on. Even before the curse he didn't have the best track record with love so he has become disillusioned about romance and never expected to meet someone like Grace. Seeing what life could be like with her he feels hope for the first time but is there any way that they can be together? The two of them make a great couple and I enjoyed watching their feelings develop throughout the book.

I loved the smattering of Greek mythology and hope to see more of that in the rest of the series. I can't wait to actually get to know the Dark Hunters now - although this novel is in the Dark Hunter series we haven't actually met any of them yet. If you're a paranormal romance fan and haven't started this series yet I'd definitely recommend giving it a try. I'm sure Sherrilyn Kenyon is soon going to join my list of favorite authors!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2012
Maybe it's because this was my third read in this series, but I found this book a bit lacking compared to the rest. Julian is a pretty hot character, very well described too, but he didn't feel like one of Sparta's greatest warriors to me. Although this book centres on the idea of him trapped in a book for 2000 years, there is a lack of action (apart from creepy stalkers) which I felt made other books in the series better than this. Still the chemistry between the characters comes across well, perhaps too well, there is an unbelievable amount of sexy time in this book and it made me double check that this was indeed the first in the series because it was something like you see in follow ups when publishers push for more sex. I just didn't like this as much and had to make myself finish reading it, I can't even really be bothered to write a full review to be honest. Check out 'Night Pleasures' and 'Dance with the Devil,' you don't need to read these in order. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2012
I have to say, I made the mistake of reading this after starting the rest of the Dark-Hunter series, but thankfully it is written in such a way that it is easily read and understood as a stand alone novel - as are the first few novels of the dark-hunter series.

I truly enjoyed this book. I was not sure what to expect but given my love of Kenyon novels I had high hopes -and those hopes were realised long before the end of the book. I read this straight through with little pause and loved it. Its quirky, humorous and yet has enough emotion and back story to give it a serious edge. The characters are enjoyable, interesting and have excellent chemistry.

I have nothing negative to say about this book - except that I wish it had lasted longer, not that its all that short, just that the story kept me glued to my kindle, something many books fail to do for me these days.

Whether you're new to the series and author or not i'm sure you'll enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse