Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 February 2015
As is often in this genre this novel is one of a series. The books are competently written and fulfil the expectations of the genre and I've enjoyed the ones I've read. I bought five of these books before I lost interest when the characters began to blur and I began to feel repetitiveness creeping in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2015
Enjoyed this one as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2011
I have read a number of Elizabeth Hoyt's books before and particularly like her "Legend of the Four Soldiers" series, in my opinion Wicked Intentions is just as good if not better than that series. The character's, unlike in many historical romances are not perfect they have fault and problems, which together they over-come. The book is set in St. Giles one of london's slum, it centres around the characters of Temperance and Lord Caire , Temperance runs a home for orphans, set up by her dead father, Lord Caire asks her for help in searching for the murderer of his dead mistress.
The book has many twists and turns and the reader is given an insight into the lives of Temperance's family and also the Ton which Lord Caire is a member. Hoyt's characters are fleshed out and by the end of the book I was really routing for the two main characters, you are also given a tantalising hint at the characters who I hope will have there own books.
I would highly recommend this book if you have liked any of her previous books or are a fan of Mary Balogh or Lisa Kleypas.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2013
I had a few reservations about the story, but on the whole enjoyed it very much. Maiden Lane is an address in the St. Giles district of London, not one of the best areas and known primarily as being the haunt of prostitutes, thieves and other persons of ill repute and ill intent. One large building there houses a foundling home which is run by Winter Makepeace and his older, widowed sister, Temperance, Mrs Dews.

St. Giles is not the sort of place a woman should be walking alone at night (unless she is plying her trade!) but the book opens with Temperance and her maidservant having gone out late to fetch a baby to the home, a baby who would otherwise be left on the streets to die. Or worse.

On their way back, they briefly encounter an incredibly striking, silver-haired man who appears to have been involved in some kind of altercation, but they do not stop to find out.

Later that night, with the baby safely desposited, and after being scolded for her recklessness by her brother, Temperance is startled to discover the same silver-haired man in her sitting room.

He is Lazarus, Lord Caire, a man with a less than savoury reputation when it comes to his sexual exploits, and who is known for having a heart of ice. To Temperance's surprise, the silver hair belies the fact that he is a man in his thirties, and a very attractive one at that.

Caire wants Temperance's help. He needs her knowledge of the St. Giles area and its people to help him to hunt down a murderer, and in return, he will introduce Temperance to members of the nobility to help her to find a wealthy patron for the home, which is in desperate financial straits.

I don't plan to re-hash the entire plot; there's a lot going on in this book, and there is a fairly large cast of characters, many of whom, like Godric St. John, Winter and Silence, will reappear throughout the series.

From the outset, there is a crackling sexual tension between Caire and Temperance, but both of them are haunted by events in their pasts which make an emotional closeness between them very difficult. Lazarus cannot bear the touch of another person and Temperance has a massive guilt complex about sex and her own sexual desires.

While I enjoyed the story , there were a few things that bugged me, one of which was to do with Caire's issues over being touched. Unless I misunderstood or missed something, the problem seemed to be wholly psychological and had lasted for much of his life - so it seemed rather convenient that with the "right woman" he was suddenly able to tolerate and then to welcome her touch. I'm not saying it's not possible. I just think it happened rather quickly. But then, this is a romantic novel after all, so...

And then there were Caire's (supposedly) dark and disgusting sexual preferences. At the risk of repeating myself - this is a romantic novel, after all... so how perverted could he possibly be?! The answer is - not much at all to be honest. And given the fact that he doesn't like to be touched, it's pretty obvious that his large stash of neck-cloths aren't all for use around his neck ;-)

And as for Temperance. She'd been married for a couple of years, and while her husband may not have been especially inventive in bed, she's experienced and, on the surface, appears to be comfortable with her sexuality. But as Caire eventually divines, sex, for her, is some kind of penance - she associates it with her husband's death and she doesn't see it as something to be enjoyed between two loving people, but as something shameful. When we find out just why she has that idea, it once again seems rather far-fetched that she could have been blaming herself so much for something that happened so long ago.

On the whole, the book was well-written and I thought the relationships between all the characters were skilfully established and well-embedded. The central romance between the dissolute lord and the demure widow was tender and very sexy - the sexual tension is scorching and when it bubbles over... *fans self*. I particularly liked the way that Lazarus opened up gradually to the possibility that he could actually care for someone and that in the end, it was he who made the first move and was prepared to take the risk that comes with loving another person.

One final quibble. I really don't like when, in books that are part of a series, too much time is spent away from the central couple in terms of establishing the set-up for the next or a future story. Whenever I get to the part in Devil in Winter in which Daisy and Cam have their snogging session in the basement of the club, I flick through it or fast forward, and I can see me doing the same here in future readings or listenings. It's not that I'm not interested in the other characters, I just don't want time taken away from the ones I'm invested in at that particular moment.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
Having read the last three of four books in the series I am finally going back to the start to read the first nine books!

Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire is notorious for his silver-white hair and his perverted desires for women. Temperance Dews is one of several children, she and her brother run a home for abandoned children and orphans in the slums of St Giles in London. When Lazarus' mistress Marie is brutally murdered he is determined to bring the murderer to justice and enlists Temperance's aid to glean information from the notoriously close-mouthed inhabitants of St Giles.

Temperance has always fought her lewd and unchristian feelings, her late husband told her that a woman who wanted relations with her husband more often than he did was unnatural and her desires were a sin. She is both intrigued and repulsed by the sensuous Lord Caire - what exactly are these perversions that everyone alludes to?

But as Temperance and Lazarus make enquiries they are met with violence and attempted murder - who killed Marie and who exactly is the mysterious Ghost of St Giles, is he a man or a myth?

Often the first book in a series, especially one in which you have read the last few books, appears rough, unsure, a bit murky - not this one! Right from the get go the reader is drawn into the slums of St Giles, the gin-houses and the brothels, the motherless children and the marauding gangs. The mystery and the hints about future books are all right there in the open.

A great start to the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2010
I have read several of Elizabeth Hoyt's novels and enjoyed them. But it is clear her publisher has asked her to sex up this new series. This is a story of redemption and the description of the way the two protagonists start to feel affection, then love, for one another was touchingly described. Both of them keep dark secrets though his is pretty widely known among the ton. Temperance - not aptly named as she is the very opposite in bed! - meets her devilish Lord whose sexual perversions send him into the bowels of St Giles where her Home for Foundling Children is run. (If only your ancestors had kept their tenament, it would be worth a fortune today in Covent Garden!) On top of the love story there is a detective one as well - who is disembowelling prostitutes? (No, not Jack, he worked in the East End.) When action flags there are many descriptions of their lovemaking. If you like really detailed descriptions of near-porno sex, this is the book for you. I would have rated it higher if the author had concentrated on the love instead of the sex.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2016
Infamous for his wild, sensual & unusual needs, Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire, is searching for the savage killer of his mistress Marie Hume, in St. Giles, London's most notorious slum. Widowed Temperance Dews knows St. Giles like the back of her hand as she's spent a lifetime caring for its orphaned children at the foundling home her family established. However the patron of the home & recently died so Temperance & her brother Winter are on the verge of being evicted.
Caire makes a simple offer - in return for Temperance's help navigating the perilous alleys of St. Giles, he will introduce her to London's high society so that she can find a benefactor for the home. So the pair walk through St Giles looking for the killer who strikes again, they are also attacked but help is at hand when ‘The Ghost of St Giles’ aids them against a gang of attackers.
Lazarus can’t abide to be touched & claims he has no feelings but Temperance is the first woman not to want anything from him & she gradually worms her way into his affections. Temperance has a guilty secret, which she has carried since her husband Benjamin died, eventually Lazarus draws it from her but will it destroy their burgeoning romance?
A well-written story with well-rounded characters, the chemistry between Caire & Temperance sizzles. The pace of the story is good & keeps you turning the pages. This is the first in the series & of course the openings are there for more stories, the rest of the Makepeace siblings – Silence deserves her HEA & of course Lady Hero. There’s also the mystery of ‘the ghost’ to solve too
I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2011
I really enjoyed this book and hope the rest of the series lives up to this standard.

It is set in an earlier period than normal for this genre and as long as you ignore the various small historical inaccuracies, it is a really interesting story with some pleasing central character developments. It will also be good to see the supporting cast return as the series develops further.

Oh, and I loved the sex scenes!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2016
a very good book i really enjoyed it plent of steamy bits recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2014
As soon as I read this, book number 1 I bought the whole series. Each book is connected by character, although each book does stand alone and tells its own story. I read them one after the other - great. Typical historical romance escapism - highly unlikely in reality (I should think) but great entertainment! I believe there is another book in the pipeline for this series and I will be buying it when it is available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse