Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 4 January 2012
Jayne Ann Krentz strikes again! This book was excellent very well written and difficult to put down. In this book our heroine awakens to find herself with a dead body on her hands and locked in a mirrored room. She is then rescued by our hero and they go on to find out what she was doing there and who had locked the door. The nature of both of their talents is again central to the book as is the love story that unfolds. The book is filled with mystery and brings in items and references to previous novels however could be read as a stand alone novel either. I for one am looking forward to reading the next installment of this series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Excellent condition and I really enjoyed the book. I love all the Arcane series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Have enjoyed all books in the arcane series. Waiting for more.
Would recommend to everyone.
Arcane is a brilliant series. Looking forward to more in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
Should you be a follower of the Arcane Society, this book is a must. Another interesting and stimulating read.Jane Anne Krenta as usual provides a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
Some things that you can guarantee with recent 'Jayne Ann Krentz writing as Amanda Quick' -
There will be lots of gaslights and even more fog.
Carriages will play a big role when it comes to sex.
The heroine will strip down to a chemise and the hero will tell her that she's 'beautiful'
There will be a JAK patented lecture on the importance of 'family' and the 'family unit'
Despite being set in Victorian England, America (or an American) will be mentioned and shown to be a much better place (or person)than England (or English people)
The 'Baddie' will be given a few paragraphs of his own so that you know that he's there but not who he is.
It will be glaringly obvious who the baddie is anyway.
There'll probably be another lecture on the importance of family around about this point.
There's a fifty per cent chance that feet will be described in a sexual way (her's not his)
At least one prostitute will be rescued from a life on the streets and sent to learn a different trade which probably doesn't pay as well.
The housekeeper is a great source of gossip but no one works that out until further into the book.
More sex will be followed by yet another discussion of the importance of family (occassionally it's the other way around)
The hero and heroine will take an entire book to decide that they fell in love the first time they met.
The hero and heroine will agree solidly on the importance of family.

Ms Krentz! I AM BORED!!!! I long for the days of books like 'Dangerous' and 'With This Ring'. I can't handle much more of Victorian England. I want humour and lightness and frivolity and all the things I loved Amanda Quick for even if there was the occassional corpse thrown in. I don't want an emphasis on families and feet. I have both family and feet, I don't need to read about them in my escapist romance. I'd really like more on the 'escapist romance' side of things.
This is, of course, a personal plea and probably won't be read by Ms Krentz anyway. If you're a fan of the recent Amanda Quick books, you'll probably like this one too.
22 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2011
The latest title in the Arcane Society and one that will more than satisfy the readers. The characters are believable, they have a freshness about them that will appeal and above all else the overall arc is one that will entertain as well as keep the reader glued as the story unfurls. Its cleverly done, the prose is delightful and above all else it's the dialogue that really sells this story. All in a great piece of escapism fiction with a good dollop of romance for readers who prefer a more organic experience rather than twee that is so often substituted. Great fun.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
I always enjoy Amanda Quicks books (Jayne Ann Krentz ) her paranormal book are a very good read full of everything .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
Another great story in the series. So well written and very addictive. Can't wait for more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
For my Mum who likes all these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse