Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 February 2013
As ever with Ms Roberts trilogies the main characters start out in the first book and continue through to the end. In this trilogy we meet Laura Templeton and daughter of the house. Kate the little girl adopted by the Templetons when her parents are killed and Margot the daughter of the house keeper. This story concentrates on Margot. Margot is beautiful and knows it. She decided to use her beauty to get the finer things in life and becomes a model. This is really about her rich and life falling apart and how the three girls pull together to help her. It also tells how Margot discovers true love where she didn't expect it. It is easy to read and certainly has its gripping moments. Suitable for lovers of family stories nd the romantic at heart. I loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
I love all Nora Roberts books about family. This one is a great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Liked this book and have found it good reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Really good flow to the book. Cant wait to start on number 2 in series. Nora Roberts never fails to entertain !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
I have to start by saying that I'm a big fan of most of Nora Roberts' trilogies and other groupings of books about families. That said, some are definitely better than others, and for me, this one was one of the best.
"Daring to Dream" is the first of this trilogy about "sisters of the heart" -- three women who grew up together in the same household. Margo Sullivan is the heroine of this tale, and she has spent most of her life trying to shed the "housekeeper's daughter" mantle that she wears with no small chip on her shoulder. She has made a name for herself in modeling and has traveled the world, but when her career falls apart she knows there's only one place she can go, and that's "home".

Many readers who didn't care for this book seem to have felt that Margo was selfish and self-centered. While I agree on the latter, I wouldn't say that she was selfish at all. It was very clear that while she's very "me" oriented, she would have dropped anything at any time to help her friends if they needed her. She's an extremely realistic character, and that means that she is, of course, flawed. Those closest to her are always quick to point out her flaws -- in fact, she often refers to them herself. But her best trait, they agree, is her loyalty, and this makes her the kind of person most people would want as a friend.

I also really enjoyed the love story in this book. Josh Templeton, the "heir apparent" to a hotel fortune and her best friend's brother to boot, isn't at all the spoiled jet-setting playboy that some have said. In fact, he works ultra-hard during the course of the book to prove his own worth, to show that he deserves his success and is not just a trust-fund baby. He was the perfect match for Margo and it was sweeter (and all the more realistic) that he has loved her all his life.

A wonderful beginning to the "Dream" trilogy.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
yes a really great book by nora cant wait for the next book. i think she is the most exciting writer of all time. she always has one in suspense until the end! brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
There's no denying it, Josh/Margo's relationship was incredibly passionate and one of my favourite story arcs in romance novels is when two people who have been friends for years discover that they want more than friendship.

However, I didn't really understand Margo herself. I cannot conceive how anyone, even a millionaire, could have so many luxury goods and designer clothes to warrant opening a shop to sell off her stuff. Okay, maybe if she was born into money but earning that much money from a modelling career and buying expensive vases with it?! Yes, I get blowing it on a house, expensive car, luxury travel but I still don't understand how she could have accumulated so many ludicrously priced knick-knacks. She would have been better off giving me the money instead. Hmpf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
i have all three books in this trilogy and i have read each one over 10 times!! These books are incredible and make the reader feel amazing from start to finish! The characters really comealive with Nora's descriptions and you really get to know them by the end of the series!!! I never wanted them to end!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2001
Like in so many of her books, Nora Roberts is able to bring her characters to life. So you share their joys and sadness. The story is the first part of a trilogy, and I personally waited until I had all three parts to start, however, the book can and does stand well on it's own.
Without giving anything away, the story is base on the lives of three women, sisters in every way but blood. This book focuses on Margo, her dreams are the wildest and richest. From the giddy heights of Milan to the magic of home. With the help of her 'sisters' and Josh, she sees that all her dreams can come true.
This book will leave to with a warm, feel good feeling.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
I love this book. From trilogy, this is my favorite. Ever since I bought it a couple of years ago, I've gone back to it again and again. I just can't get enough of it!
While it's true that Margo seems a bit too spoiled and selfish at the beginning, you also come to understand her motivation for using her body--which is her only asset--to create a world for herself. Margo is not all bad. She's caring about her friends, and in her own way, she does things for them. She gives them support, and is there when they need her.

I liked Josh from the beginning. He could easily have been a very snobbish, spoiled person, but he wasn't. He cared very much about his sister and nieces. The good relationship between him and his family was evident, and that clearly says something about him.

Although we don't see much interaction between Margo and Josh, the reader does believe that there is a caring, loving relationship developing between them. Although Josh is a bit too possessive, it's reasonable since he's had to do without Margo for a very long time. Personally, I like them and think that they would be great people to know.

If you like the DREAM series, you may also want to try Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you missed it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse