Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
27
Great Fire Of London (Great Events)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 February 2017
My son enjoys reading this book and the others in the series. He loves reading and history and these are good to encourage his interest. For him it would have been good if they had a bit more detail and were a little longer, but they would probably be about right for most 6 or 7 year olds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2012
Given that children study about the Great Fire of London in year 2 when they are 6 or 7, this book is ideal in terms of length and mixture of cartoon-style pictures, information and narrative. However, the authors seem determined to pick out the gory bits, but whilst this might be OK for older children, the descriptions and images of e.g. severely burned cats and dying pigeons are upsetting for this age group and unnecessary. They are not shown on the 'look inside' so it was a shock when it arrived - fortunately I looked through it before wrapping it as a gift, and had enough time to buy an alternative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2015
Excellent little book. I downloaded it to help my 6 year old grandson with his homework. The quiz at the end is great fun! (He managed to answer them all with some practice).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2010
Written in story form, this is accessible as a history topic source book for most of our children in Year 2. They enjoy reading this to each other and remember the factual details included in the narrative. Ideal for use as an alternative, child friendly information source.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2012
Bought for a six year old who enjoyed reading the story which seemed a reasonable portrayal of the event. However, whilst having a colourful front cover the book's content pages were all black & white drawings & text, on poor quality paper, giving a rather dated appearance & little durability. Not very good quality or value when compared with other similar offerings in this sector.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2016
Good factual book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2016
My daughter is doing the great fire of London in year 2 and can read it really well. Will defiantly be buying more in this range
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2014
This is nicely written and informative. My son is learning this topic in school so it has been read and reread several times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2016
This was a story about the Great Fire of London from a boy's perspective.
The children really loved listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
Bought this and the plague for year 2 child, excellent books lots of details and easily read by my son.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse