Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Drake Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
233
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Price:£9.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2013
1st class book,great information,covers routes ,mileage and time taken on tours,and places to eat and stay .Great directions.Best of its kind for touring Britian,evan tells you petrol station to refuel
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
Quite simply, this is an amazing book. Nearly 70 rides, all over Britain, lasting from an hour to a full day. But it also includes tours of Scotland, Wales and the south of England. (The book would be worth having for these alone.)

The directions are detailed and very clear - Simon helpfully warns of turnings that are easy to miss and helps out with landmarks, eg turn left after the church, or as soon as you pass the 30 sign. Distances and times needed are given and many rides are done as loops, helpfully bringing you back to where you started. He also suggests other interesting roads in the area.

Very nicely produced too, spiral-bound so it won't fall apart too easily, and small enough for a tank bag, it also has many ideas about things to do and see on the way.

But at the heart of the book is the riding and Simon's a wonderful guide to all the great rides out there, showing you don't have to go far to find them, wherever you happen to live.

This will be my constant companion for years, as I discover new places and revisit old ones. Anyone who wants to have fun on a bike should get one.

Paul Gordon
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Excellent, very good range of rides from a few miles to hundreds of miles. Maps very clear and commentary on each ride is descriptive, written in a good style with just the right amount of detail.

Can't wait to try out some of the routes.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
I've been cutting out the various routes Mr Weir has been on via RIDE magazine over the past year or so...and here they are in a great, well thought out book..Also with, for example, a 6 day tour of Scotland, 4 day tour of Wales etc. etc. Great layout, plus lots of additional info and easy to read map routing..Bring on the next book covering France..(please..!!)
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
It's got a lovely conversational style in its writing, and the routes are well laid out. My two gripes (suggestions really) is that each route should have a tiny map of Britain and a red dot marking its location. I've lived here 8 years, and still am not that familiar with the locations of even some of the larger towns (part of the reason I got a bike, and this book is to visit them!) so I get a little lost when browsing.
The other hand feature would've been an overview of the routes on a large map of britain - linking to what page the route is on.
Essentially my complaint is about indexing, rather than content.

I've done a 1700 mile tour of Britain based largely off routes in this book, and when it says a road is lovely, it's right. It's worth it for their equivalent of the route 66.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Best 8 quid I've spent in a long time!
Loads of tips and some great rides
Buy it, I'ts money well spent...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2016
I bought this book for my Father in Law as he is motorbike mad. He said this is the best book he has ever had like this and he has already planned some rides to do with it. The book is set into geographical locations and each ride is well described and mapped out. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes to get out and explore on a motorbike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Bought as a Present hubby who thought it excellent and can't wait to try out some of the rides this summer
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
If you have the old one ... It's worth buying the latest revision.
A truly well thought out book. Simon deserves success with this. I was sceptical / doubtful​, but haveing completed many fun rides....well worth the investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2016
Superb book of bike rides, well written and illustrated. If you read Ride magazine you will already know Simon Weirs writing and of his extensive touring knowledge. A great read and hugely useful for the keen motorcyclist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)