Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 8 July 2014
If you like exploring old churches, as I do, this is a delightful book to own. It has just enough information to give you a start, and it covers more than 870 churches all over Scotland, England, and Wales. It is well laid out and illustrated, and has a useful glossary of terms at the back for people who are not familiar with the form of church buildings and their architecture. So far, I have found the information in it is accurate with one exception. The church in Fairford famous for its medieval stained glass is not St John the Evangelist, but St Mary the Virgin (see page 107). It's a minor point and won't spoil your enjoyment of the book, but when I asked people in Fairford how to get to St John the Evangelist, all I received were blank looks
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
It is a Xmas pressie for my dad who was Bishop of Hull. Many of the churches mentioned will be very familiar!!
I hope he loves it? He will be 90 next April!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
sorry can't remember it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Superb book despite its authorship.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is superb and , being a Civil Engineer who has worked on churches , I have a natural interest in church structures . The book is very pleasant to sift through and is very well illustrated with many churches and chapels across Britain . The facts are given in a short , succinct fashion . Not only is the architecture described , but also the decorations .
Nice to own .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Sorry to say l put only one star..The reason l put one star is so l can write to you to say l never ordered this book.So l do not know if l would like it or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
This is a well produced book with interesting text and good pictures
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
Excellent and interesting book which makes you want to get out of your armchair and immediately visit some of these beautiful buildings.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
I would highly recommend this book. It is easy to read, informative and the layout is clear and easy to find the area you are visiting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
just what we wanted,we bought two one to give to a relation for Christmas.the book is very informative a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse