Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
9
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2012
It does us fine for finding pubs to eat in when we are out and about, especially in areas that we don't normally visit. We are not too interested in the beer, etc. (can't drink and drive anyway) and fits in our boot rather well. We have had these publications every couple of years to keep pace with the changes of pubs and find them very useful. The map is adequate and with each pub having a postcode, we can enter that into our sat nav and away we go.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Having had to abandon our old friend The Good Pub Guide, because it now takes money from its pubs so is no long reliable, we are glad to have found this one. Comments on the pubs we already know are spot on and we look forward to trying out some new ones in the area.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
This is an excellent guide and we have never had a disappointing meal when using it. Take it with you in the car, as wherever you are, there is somewhere you can go. Highly recommended. We buy it bi-annually, as not enough places change hands to merit an annual purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
I have made a point of buying each edition when published - would not be without it. Only one 'poor' experience in over ten years of use and that pub was not in the next edition! A source of reliable information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
I bought this book on the basis that it was a guide to the best of British pubs. The book contains over 500 pages of pubs in England with only 27 pages for Scotland and 27 for Wales. Northern Ireland obviously doesn't contain any pubs whatsoever.

Being based in the Western borders of Scotland and only a few miles by ferry from Belfast this strictly limits its usefulness.

The information on the website should make clear the Anglo-centric nature of the Guide.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Ok for the coffee table but we thought it would be the same size as a previous version which traveled everywhere with us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
its a useful book however i preferred the previous editions size as it is larger and difficult to fit into the car door pocket.
shows dog friendly pubs
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
Once again reviews seem based on food over beer, I live in Norwich and judging on the included pubs the reviewers have never been here.
Nothing wrong with the included pubs however there are others that are far better serving a much larger selection of beers with a good atmosphere however they don't server\server limited food so are not included.
It's the good pub guide not the restaurant guide - get it right.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)