Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2014
Crikey, this really is a fresh take on the business case and quite remarkable to see how the worlds largest event was shaped so positively. Frost is a very clear writer and makes his point brilliantly. Make sure you dont miss your stop on the tube, its a brilliant read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
As a "lay-person" regarding diversity and inclusion practices, I expected that my primary interest in this book would be experiencing the insider account of how the London Olympics were created. Indeed, Mr. Frost fills the book with numerous entertaining stories and revealing anecdotes around the behind-the-scenes goings-on leading up to the London Games, more than enough to justify the purchase price.

However, what the book taught me about "D&I" has permanently altered how I think about business. Mr. Frost illustrates in significant detail how business processes were redesigned from the ground up to foster diversity at the most fundamental level, in stark contrast to the manner in which I believe most people assume it must be done, as more of a post-hoc intervention applied to more conventional processes. Furthermore, he demonstrates how this can be accomplished in a way that aligns with and furthers the business objectives of the organization, rather than hindering them as a sort of extra cost -- again, not what one would expect.

The casual reader can definitely enjoy this book; but the professional reader is bound to discover much food for thought here, in enough detail to inspire more concrete ideas of how to apply these methods to one's own organization.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
We were suppliers to the London 2012 Paralympic Games. This is really insightful book, it brought the Games alive for me and gave me a renewed appreciation for what went on behind the scenes in making the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games so welcoming and inclusive. I learned a lot and recommend it, it's a great read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
If a project like delivering the London Olympic and Paralympic Games in 2012 rose to the challenge of making inclusion a priority, there is no reason why that shouldn't be the case for any organisation. If you believe that then read this book, it will help you navigate a course for your own organisation. If you don't believe it, read this book anyway, you are bound to be inspired by the simplicity and practicality of some of the ideas.This is an opportunity to learn from someone that not only writes well about inclusion but has proven it can be delivered as well. A terrific book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This book is an essential guide for any business who really wants to ensure they harness the talent and integrate includion as a essential platform for growth, creativity and inclusion within any business. The timing is apt and it is a brilliant insight into London 2012's journey to Games-time. As part of the 2012 team it gives me great pride to see the value all our work delivered in 2012 this book is an important part of our legacy. Brilliant work from all involved. A must buy for all to who wants to rmake a significant difference...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
The Inclusion Imperative - this is a great book that I really can't recommend highly enough. Leaders at all levels should read it, it's humorous, insightful and informative about a subject that we should all be so much better informed about. It's so good that Amazon has had to re-order stock meaning that you may have to wait a couple of days for it....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Stephen Frost writes with honestly, humour and clarity about the urgent necessity of expanding inclusivity in our workplaces, based partly on his experience working as Head of Diversity for the London Olympic Games. Such an important and worthy topic would be in danger of generating a rather dull and plodding book in the wrong hands, but Mr Frost has an eloquence and irreverence which makes him a pleasure to read. I certainly never expected to encounter the expression "cripping up" (quoted, I should add) to describe the practice of non-disabled actors playing disabled roles on stage and screen.

Buy it, read it,.... apply it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Anyone who is interested in both the topic of Diversity and Inclusion and gaining an insight into one of the most successful ever Olympic Games will find this book a must read. In particular it puts the case very well of the benefits to Business of having a pro-acive D&I policy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I read The Inclusion Imperative with a great enthusiasm. The background is the back-stage story of building the London 2012 Olympics and Paralympics Games, which were described, by all accounts, as the most inclusive in history. But the book goes much further than a good story: It gives great insights about a radical impact-oriented approach to diversity and inclusion that business people and practitioners in the private or public sector will find very inspiring. I thought it was a good read and a very useful book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
I have learned so much from this book and in particular the move from diversity to inclusion. I was looking forward to reading this because I was lucky enough to attend one of Stephen's lectures at Harvard Kennedy and I was struck then by his even handed approach and the power of story telling that he displayed.

Reading the "behind the scenes" story behind the London Olympics really brought this subject to life for me, and I found the "takeaways" at the end of the Chapters to be particularly useful If inclusion is important to you - in fact if really maximising your work environment is important - then you are going to find some fantastic ideas in this book. Thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)