Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(5 star). See all 17 reviews
on 15 September 2009
Making Sense of Business: A No-nonsense Guide to Business Skills for Managers and Entrepreneurs: A No-nonsense Guide to Business Skills for Manager and Entrepreneurs

A rare find: a business guide that really does provide practical advice of the sort that most self-employed/ small business people need. Not for the theorist, it is aimed at the sort of person who is good at what they do, but needs help with the things that turn this into a business - marketing, time management, presentation, etc.

Helped along by some nice drawings by Tim Radford (from the Guardian, I think) it is clear and concise. Alison Branigan is that rare thing, a business writer with more sense than ego.

Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
I have been in business for over 25 years but learned a whole lot from this book. It is a well written and concise guide to how to set up and run a business and the many pitfalls and problems you are likely to encounter. What I like so much about the book is the fact that it is very practical and "Hands On". Many works of this sort deal in abstruse theoretical concepts difficult to understand with a barrage of meaningless statistics and incomprehensible theory. Alison Branagan , however, teaches fundamental concepts like your Business vision, negotiating skills, how to grow a team, how to market your products, how to network and how to present - the "Nitty-Gritty" stuff we all wish to hear! Most importantly it analyses what skills you have and what skills you can acquire to make your vision a reality. The book is full of humour and makes the complex problems in setting up and running a business much easier and less frightening. I would recommend this to people new to business as well as seasoned entrepreneurs!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2010
This book truly does cover all aspect us designers need to survive the 21st century! and be able to take our designs and business forward. The book is amusing to the eyes with the the use of illustrations and graphic.

A very handy book, which will surely be used over and over again...
JOB WELL DONE
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2009
I read this book and was delighted by it. If you are starting a new business, trying to revive an existing business or simply looking to make sure you are not missing a trick for your business, then Making Sense of Business: A No-nonsense Guide to Business Skills for Managers and Entrepreneurs is a *MUST READ* for you. The book is easy to read and the author provides practical advice on how to develop the skills needed to make your enterprise a success and also fosters fresh thinking by the reader on a wide range of topics by providing the raw input for you.

This book is the first I have read which would be ideal for all those involved in new ventures. This is not a book for your shelf though; this is a book to keep on your desk and use. Making Sense of Business: A No-nonsense Guide to Business Skills for Managers and Entrepreneurs should be the first port of call at the first sight of any possible storm.

If you are involved in an enterprise of any size - buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2010
My partner and I began our Bed & Breakfast business recently and found this book really helped with everything from the start.
It outlines the basic rules that apply to any kind of enterprise and we learned a lot by reading it cover to cover. The writing style and layout of the book was easy to understand and we loved the cute illustrations and great quotations. This book didn't waste our time as it got into the things we really needed to know and we can recommend it thoroughly to budding entrepreneurs or those wanting to revitalise an existing business.

Sarah & Jan
Hillhouse B&B
Lac-Brome, Quebec, Canada
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2009
"I found Making Sense of Business is a straight forward easy to understand book. I highly recommended anyone in or going into business to read this fantastic book. The drawings and quotes are fun and the whole book is very inspiring."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
`Making Sense of Business', by Alison Branagan is a must have book for anyone embarking on business ventures and start-ups.

I found Alison Branagan's approach to some of the more mundane yet necessary facets of business refreshingly creative. Using mind maps and enjoyable creative exercises she effectively tackles key business skills; If you ever wanted to know about managing a team, presenting or selling your product without immersing yourself into a pool of statistics and figures, then this is a book for you! A great business guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
Making Sense of Business is a fantastic book and very inspiring, A MUST READ! It is great for someone like me who is wanting to start up there own business as it has all the information you need and is very well written and easy to understand. The mind maps are a fun and a different way of doing things as well. I really enjoyed reading this book and its made me even more determind to succeed. The quotes and illustrations throughout the book are great and Alison's approach to business is unique and refreshing and not patronising in anyway. Alison is the only business writer that has managed to make sense of business for me and that is a rare thing! not many writers I feel have her no nonsense approach so all credit to her and her wonderful book.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
There are a lot of very good business books out there, but most are aimed towards people who want to run a business. The great thing about Alison's book is that it is aimed at creative people, people who need to know the basics of business, but whose main focus is the process of creativity. Alison communicates in a straightforward way, never blinding her readers with business jargon but never patronising them. She covers key areas such as legal and ethical matters, networking, selling, time management, etc., giving clear guidance and useful links. You can work your way through the book or dip in to the relevant section as you need it. I work as a coach with creative people and I often recommend this book as the best start up guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
Making Sense of Business is a clear, fun, and practical book.
Alison Branagan succeeds brilliantly in combining details and uses mind maps which makes complicated things like negotiation and legal things easier to understand. The book explains how to learn new enterprise skills. Whether you are just a beginner like me, an entrepreneur, or a business manager, this is just the book for anyone who aspires to succeed. I've really enjoyed reading it and hope to put some of the advice into practice soon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)