Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2015
Interesting book it contains two books, Mr Norris changes train and Goodbye Berlin.
Personally I prefered Mr Norris changes Trains, it had more of a plot, and drew you into the last years of the pre-Hitler germany,as Berlin is starting to dive into a dark place. The centre character is Bradshaw, a young englishman abroad, who flirts with the Communist party, drawn in by Mr Norris.
Its well worth the read.
Goodbye Berlin is alike a series of small novels, made into the play "I am a camera" and the film and musical Cabaret. I just found it a little bitty and Sally Bowles is not a character that I could warm too.
But it certainly an intersting read
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Of course I have seen 'Cabaret' and it is a great movie but what it cannot do is what its inspiration does: create some credible, subtle and memorable characters and evoke an atmosphere of pre-war Berlin which is at once seductive and repellent. Isherwood was witness to the rise of Hitler and this book brings out the poverty and hopelessness (and helplessness) of many Germans, and the sense of gloom and impending chaos, which assisted the ascent of Nazism. I had also not appreciated how early on the systematic murder of Jewish Germans began. The book shows the seductive side of Berlin and its more chilling aspects, among the latter being the sense of security rooted in disbelief among the very people whose lives were soon to be destroyed.
The writing is spare but vivid.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
I didn't read the description properly and realise it's Goodbye to Berlin and Changes Trains combined which I already have. Too late to send back for a refund I think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
I really enjoyed this novel. I liked the fact that there were recognisable landmarks and I loved the characterisation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
I first read these novels 50 years ago and they still stand the test f time. They bring back the sinister Nazi years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2000
I bought this book to give me a "feel" of Germany, and especially Berlin in the period before the Second World War. The reason - I'm to direct the musical "Cabaret" early in 2001. I found that Isherwood's simple style of storytelling with no pretentious nonsense is truely a pleasure to read. The stories are told from the point of view of an observer - even though he is involved in them - very dispasionately. The effect is gripping as the characters are so accurately drawn. Berlin before the war is evoked so well, you would think you had been there. Thoroughly recomended for those interested in the time or those who like good stories told well.
11 Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
Having been brainwashed by Nazi propaganda films for what seems like forever this book was a totally refreshing look at the real life of everyday Germans prior to the descent into the madness of the Hitler era. Isherwood's writing is precise and never superfluous. It feels as though the characters are as alive today as they were all those years ago. I can never watch 'Cabaret' again without thinking of Isherwood's Sally Bowles. For once Hollywood almost got it right. This is one book I would definitely delve into again.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Having recently stayed in (mainly 'East') Berlin I was interested in reading some 'modern' historical fiction. These novels are set during the rise of the Nazis. They don't provide as much detail as, say 'Alone in Berlin', but there are many incidental references that hint at the flavour of the times. There is little description of the environment, beyond the rooms the characters occupy, and no great drama/thriller plots - but the skill of the writing carries you easily through the pages.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Highly recommended, wonderfully written and a fascinating insight into the Berlin of the times - cosmopolitan, seedy, sad and frightening.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Wonderful book. If you saw Cabaret, read the book,it's superb - even better than the film- and that was good!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here