Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
79
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2016
great value, fast derlivery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
I am presenting this to the WI book groupe. I have read it beafore deckades ago. it is an unusual book that stands out . beautifuly written
Arived swiftly, well paccaged many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
I was very wary of this CD as I had previously read and thoroughly enjoyed the Gormenghast trilogy. But Rupert Degas
has proved to be a wonderful narrator. His "voices" of the various characters makes me wonder why he isn't better known.
Thank goodness he has stuck to narrating!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Mervyn Peake at his querkiest best and what vocabulary
book in great condition as if never been read
very enjoyable read if you have the querk of mind to like that sort of stuff
I actually have one other friend who has also enjoyed reading this one
speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
need it to complete the trilogy - only had book 2. haven't started it yet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2016
It is a very arduous read but once you get into it it's not too bad. I'd love to read the other books of the trilogy once I've got time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2011
Degas is a fantastic narrator. His vocal characterisations are an absolute joy. If you like Peake this is a fine way of experiencing his universe and his entirely individual yet archetypal cast once again. If you don't, this reading is a very entertaining and well abridged starting place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
I enjoyed every word of this superbly written book.What imagination and perfect use of language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Real twisting and turning story, very much a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse