Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
75
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2013
I didnt know anything about indo-china and liked learining about it from the perspective of the author's personal/professional experience... a good blend of history, geography and personal drama. I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to learn about the history of indo-china.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
Interesting to read while in Vietnam. It is sometimes a bit tedious in serial descriptions of yet another 'character' and another set of whoring tales, but best for putting other first hand detail on the historical narrative. A series of only loosely connected stories, overall giving a sense of the progress of the wars in Vietnam and Cambodia. I am sure the impact it all had on Swain made this a book he needed to write, and it feels written for his benefit as much as for the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Excellent book about a war correspondent in those 20th century south east Asia conflict years! Brings out the human side of the story in force, and the paradox of trying to juggle normal day to day life choices and relationships with a job like war correspondent. Also the perverse beauty of some places and peoples and lifestyles, even when they are slap bang in the middle of some really nasty times. Well written, and easy reading. Take on holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2001
I wanted this book to last forever, a very personal account and very well written.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2010
The story of Cambodia and the horrors inflicted on it are central to Jon Swain's life. He tells it like it is, and does not feel the need to avoid mentioning his own flaws. Highly recommended - though a couple of pages about Vietnam under French occupation would have shown the motivations at work.

Note: if you read the book, he mentions Bizot, who he respects. Bizot also has a book about Cambodia, on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
i loved reading this book. very sad in places but still that was the place and time he was in, a very sad part of human history. i would recommend reading The killing Fields too as they interlink in some points. have to admit some big fancy words used maybe too much. great story anyway. i hope you enjoy it as much as i did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Having just returned from a break in Cambodia and Vietnam, where we visited the Killing Fields, War Remnants Museum etc., I was looking forward to working through a first-hand account of the horror of war and the rise of the Khmer Rouge. However I was incredibly disappointed to have to wade through pages and pages of the details of Swain and his journalist pals' excesses - women, opium, booze, swanky hotels at the expense of what I really wanted to read: an account of how the conflict affected the local population.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Restless journalist finds his cause célèbre in Indochina, but it's a gruesome, eye opening, and tragic history. About one third of the population were killed in the 1970s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
The book is important as a testament to the lives of those who lived through a nightmare and an important memorial to those who did not survive. Thank you Jon Swain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
I downloaded I added this book after it was mentioned on a television programme. It is really a memoir, and quite self - indulgent. Not at all what I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)