Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9

on 7 March 2015
Having read much about Sir Winston Churchill, I decided I should read one of his own books and I was not disappointed. Normally I would find descriptions of theatres of war in far flung places boring, not in this book! Sir Winston writes with such charm, enthusiasm and sometimes amusement I was captivated to the last page. He was a man that even at 25 years of age, was convinced of his own destiny. He was exceedingly brave and would never take "no" for an answer. The Greatest Britain ever, and a brilliant writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2013
Beeing an admirer of Sir Winston S. Churchill, i bought this book, and it met all my expectations.
I' m reading this book just now.

First, the conditon of the book was mint conditon, considering it was published in 1948.

To the book itself - Churchill meets all my expectations, superb language and prose. His sence of humour, often on his ovn behalf , makes this an undertaining, exploaring wiew into Churchill's young life, and what made him ticking, the years to come.

In a few days time I will embark on Churchill's World History Of The English Speaking People.

What a treat that'll be.

Lars

Norway
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2016
Interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2012
I was given this book by one of my officers on leaving the RAF in 1950 and have read it several times since. It is a fascinating book and considering it was written by someone born almost 140 years ago, still has relevance for young and old today. The author has encouraging words of advice for students struggling with maths or Latin about which he writes amusingly and from experience. Anyone suffering the stress of exams - take heart; it took him three tries to pass the exams for entry to Sandhurst when even the powerful influence of his family could not help; in the end, it was his own determination and perseverence that triumphed. At the end of WW2 Churchill was hailed as a hero, but it was not long before the harsh world of politics was condemning him as a war-monger. If those who condemned him then or who contemplate war in this day and age had read page 245 of this book, they might meet the true world statesman - I quote: "Let us learn our lessons. Never, never, never believe any war will be smooth and easy, or that anyone who embarks on that strange voyage can measure the tides and hurricanes he will encounter. The Statesman who yields to war fever must realize that once the signal is given, he is no longer the master of policy but the slave of unforeseeable and uncontrollable events." This book was written in 1930; before the decade was out, destiny would lay its hand on his shoulder - the rest is history.My Early Life
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2009
This book is gripping from start to finish! It is extremely well written, and Churchill is talking you along every line. Exciting, funny , and not long enough! I wanted another 100 pages!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2004
This is truly a wonderful insite to a man who grew to great things in world history.
This book of Churchills development from child into man exudes the energy and lust for life he clearly had, telling of his miserable childhood through school and into the army and where in the field of battle he had more than his fair share of adventure. His reflextion of his father is one of sadness but pride, the friends he met,worked and fought with are discribed with wonderful passion and memory, he paints pictures of places with simple clarity which transport the reader.The stage set for his challenging Political Career, this book truly reveals the youth behind a great man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2014
Wonderful prose of a bygone era and a social comment on the life and times of the late 19th Century. Churchill writes with the benefit of having fought in the Great War, he therefore writes with the nostalgia that most of his contemporaries believed that they would never see war again. Vignettes of interest:- his correspondence with Mr Winston Churchill of Boston who was writing at the same time, his political mentors of the early 20th Century such as Salisbury and the generals that he knew in Britain's colonial skirmishes. A good read to understanding the politician he later became.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2013
I guess if you are here your a fan but for the curious Churchill wrote my early life at the age of 55 and probably thought that his better days were over,if that were the case then he couldn't be more wrong,god knows where we would have been without him
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)