Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
65
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 September 2007
"The Railway Viaduct" is an absorbing mystery that will keep you guessing till the very end...well no it won't. Mainly because once you've got past half way the book puts us in the position of knowing more than lead character Inspector Robert Colbeck.

Indeed my only criticism is that on more than a couple of occasions waiting for Colbeck to catch up with what we already know does become slightly irritating.

Still it is what one might have once called a "ripping yarn". From the opening chapter, and the discovery of the dead body thrown from the train this is a great story with many twists and turns. A great many of the characters (Sergeant Victor Leeming, Madeleine Andrews to name but two) are brilliantly observed and this is a book that grabs you right from the start.

My first encounter with the Railway Dectective...but it won't be my last.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
The whole series of books are really entertaining. Each book subject takes part in different parts of the country and the author seems to have detailed knowledge of the areas and a deep understanding of Victorian times and railway operation.

That said each book is a different mystery thriller which keeps the reader enthralled and wondering what to expect next. A great read that is highly recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 December 2007
Edward Marston's Railway Detective, Robert Colbeck, is dedicated to solving major crimes on the British railways. With his previous two books featuring Colbeck, Marston established a police officer/investigator who shows great promise and at the same time historian/novelist Marston treats us to some great railroad lore and knowledge. It's Victorial England (later 19th century) and the country is moving forward, at the speed of the train and the Industrial Revolution. It's an excellent choice of historical periods and subject for Marston who's success as a historical mystery writer took him to much earlier times.

In "The Railway Viaduct," however, Marston seems to have bogged down with his scenario, almost as if he's stretching for a storyline to fit the era. The book opens when witnesses see, passing over the Sankey Viaduct, not only the train, but a body being tossed out of the window, to a sure death far below. Good investigating skills come into play and Colbeck and his assistant Leeming make great gains and the hunt leads them to France where an English company is laying tracks for a major railway there. Marston weaves in some complications which enhance the story and slowly and with great ingenuity Colbeck solves the mystery.

Some elements, however, haven't changed from his first book ("The Railway Detective"), such as his romance with the daughter of a train engineer. She also doubles as a character of convenience in helping the case move forward. But enough already. After three books, Colbeck, claim the prize or move on! Even his nemesis the superintendent begins to be tiresome (why do detectives invariably have "issues" with their bosses--Morse, Dalgliesh, Jury, to name three). And after all these Marston books this reader is about to give up on the stilted, stilted, stilted dialogue. (Put some life and reality into those lines, Sir!)

Still, however, I won't give up. I like historical mysteries and Marston rarely disappoints me (well, except for his dialogue!). If a fourth Railway Detective book is in the making, one hopes that he'll be back on the right track.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Edward Marston writes a very very interesting story about the railway detective, solving crimes and murders , and for those of you who like detective stories too, this book could be a must for you as its very well written with twists and turns, I liked this book so much that I now have all the books written under the railway detective title .by the author, they make .a good light hearted who dun it ,so if you like this book then you'll certainly like the other books too in this series and you wont be disappointed either,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
I have read this story in one day recovering from seasonal illness. I'm sorry it's finished. The characters are well drawn and developed through this and previous volumes of the railway detective. I look forward to reading the next story in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Bearing in mind our current arguments about a new railway line, this novel details a new line being built abroad at the start of the railway network. You start with rightly some compassion for the man murdered, but through the story realise his character. More descriptive violence in this story. The novel seemed to solve itself at a good rate at the end. It kept me up to after 1.00 am ! So would recommend purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
This is the third Colbeck book I've read and I really enjoyed it. I found this a very easy read and holds your attention. I thought the tensions between France and England were very well written and I felt that I was getting a mini history lesson.

A very good read and will be reading more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
This story is as good as the previous books which were excellent. the let-down with this offering is the use of foul language which, though some would disagree, was unnecessary and did not add anything to the plot. Why is it that in many cases today it is deemed necessary to include these words, which some would say add realism, instead of making fuller use of the English language. Maybe it is time, as in the case of films, that a warning is included on books purchased on-line which inform the discerning reader about the contents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Having read Robert Colbeck's first Railway Detective book (and enjoyed it) I found after having barely read more than a couple of chapters of "The Railway Viaduct" that the language was (to me) unacceptable, so discontinued reading and deleted it from my Kindle fire.
Such a pity, as it is a sadly neglected area, with regard to popular literature!
Regards,
Brian Rowe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
The railway detective novels by Edward Marston are well researched and make good reading whether you are a railway buff or not.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse