Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • JIG
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2001
I re-read this the other day and I still feel what I felt at the time, that this was the finest thriller published in a ten year span between 1986-1996, which includes a lot of good books. Why this novel never got filmed when the childish Patriot Games did, is beyond me. JIG is so rich in character and plot, and so well-written, it's incredible that it has been overlooked by Hollywood. We've had so many crummy movies made about the IRA - and yet the best thriller on the subject, JIG, slipped through the net. Do yourself a favor and read this beauty again...
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 1999
I adored this book it was a fast moving thriller with more twists and turns than anything I read before I have to give it to the Auther this book is scary in the way everything is detailed, with subtle clues that leave you guessing till the last moment
Excellent
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 1999
This book gives a real insight into what drives a terrorist on and how he could be your neighbour , son , friend . This book has amazing twists and turns throughout the plot and once picked up it is hard to put down.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
A shipment of money, raised in the USA and destined for the IRA, is hijacked by person or persons unknown. The IRA is obviously not going to be happy with this - their best man, Jig, is dispatched to find out what went wrong, retrieve the money, and mete out retribution. He has a contact in the States, but the Brits are sending a man after him, and it looks like another player has headed across the Atlantic as well.
"Jig" is a first-rate thriller, one of the best ever to use the conflict in Northern Ireland as its driving force, and far superior to the bulk of better publicised (and hyped-up) thrillers published since the 1980's. Although the situation in Ireland has undergone significant changes since the writing of "Jig", it remains a compulsive read. Campbell Armstrong writes a fast paced novel in which he builds a number of convincing characters and explores the dynamics of their interaction in sophisticated fashion. It's a timeless classic. This is an intelligent, seriously well-written page turner of a book from a highly skilled author. An exciting, highly enjoyable thriller.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I read this book when it first came out many years ago and have re-read it several times and it is fantastic, I keep checking for a kindle version, hint hint, but not yet...
Definitely recommended
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
I planned on reading this book for ages having bought another book in the Frank Pagan series (Jig is the first) and have finally read it. The book is set in London, Ireland and East-coast USA which play the backdrop for an Irish Republican v Loyalist battle over the loss of a shipment of £10m in collected funds and the ensuing chase between the single-minded good guy and the bad guys.

Although the £10m amount dates the book a little, the book otherwise doesn't feel dated at all. The characters are easy to understand and there's a good balance of twists and description for a reader of this genre. The only fault I would raise is that the characters are sometimes a bit too obvious... the American President and his family is evidently based on the Kennedys, the Protestant minister seemingly is supposed to be Ian Paisley.

Definitely recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
not a bad book little dated now spoilt by a printing error that duplicated 32 pages and left a chunk of the plot missing near the end
so book returned to seller. Never will know what happened to 3 of the people!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 1999
This had all the qualities I look for in a book; a well developed plot with plenty of action and suspense and strong central characters. There was no warm up, from the outset I was gripped and with each page the pace continued to pick up pressuring me to keep reading on and on to its equally captivating conclusion - Brilliant!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
Jig was first published in 1987 and now, twenty years later, in a new edition, it still stands as one of the really memorable thrillers of the past twenty years. Its hero, counter-terrorist agent Frank Pagan, is on the track of the man known only as 'Jig', an Irish terrorist whose distinction is that he kills only select targets - no random bombings, no innocent bystanders.
Jig is sent to America to track down millions of dollars collected by IRA sympathisers in the US only to be stolen from a hijacked ship in mid-Atlantic. And of course Frank Pagan, dogged, determined, carrying a tragedy of his own, goes in pursuit...This is a novel not only of plot, but of excellent characterization and intelligent insight into The Troubles of the time. People who were lured into reading the mindless Patriot Games would do well to read this book, which is illuminating, tense, a novel filled with unforgettable scenes, betrayals, family ties, and one man's quest to find his nemesis, whom he has come grudgingly to admire. Read it. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Read this book 25 years ago and have never forgotten the story. A brilliantly written plot that stands the test of time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£18.99

Need customer service? Click here