Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2013
Excellent story where one can sit in the saddle and be in the midst of battle and military blunders, not quite up to Sharp but still a good read, for me I shall be reading more about Fonthill !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
I am a great fan of the Fonthill series.This book had the potential to be a great read.unfortunately I felt it was spoilt by rather too much emphasis and detail,on the activities of Alice.
However still a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
Enjoying book, descriptions excellent, background well drawn and authentic for the period. The characters are well known to readers of the series and are excellently placed into the period and place
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
For anyone with an interest in military history the "Fonthill" series is a must, this is the ninth book in the series and follows the adventures of Fonthill and 352 during the Boer War, which incidentally ran parallel with the Boxer Rebellion, the last book in the series. The book covers the second half of this vastly costly war after the Boer defeat at Paardeberg, the two year period of the commando war. The historical research is very good, with the concentration camps and blockhouses well covered, together with the British having to adapt to the Boer way of fighting and the introduction of Mounted Infantry.I don't want to say too much more as it will spoil the reading enjoyment of others but I do want to point out the proof reading of the book does leave some glaring errors. Firstly 352 is commended on page 30 for winning the DSM (Distinguished Service Medal) a purely naval decoration for his time in the Sudan (totally incorrect) and then later in the book he is noted as winning the Distinguished Conduct Medal (the right medal as it transpires)for the same action! Also De Wet, mentioned in another review when he died in 1922 but started a rebellion at the beginning of the Second World War!
My biggest criticism is probably the writing concerning Alice, who for the first time I found in the majority of the book an annoying distraction. Not in my opinion as good as "The Dragon Lady" but even with it's faults still a very good read!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Can I please make a suggestion on 'SIMON FONTHILL' novels. If you have not read any of this series of books, then please do not start with this one. You can of course if you want to, but I would suggest going all the way back to the first one. Please believe me when I say that you will not be disappointed.
This whole series to date truly deserve 5STARS. They are an excellent read every time, and I always feel cheated when finished.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Another good boys own yarn if a little hurried at times. There are a couple of editing mistakes and the odd bit that seems out of place as if a chunk was cut out but dont let this get in the way of a good fun story.

It might not be top notch but it is not far off and very enjoyable. It leaves me looking for the next installement.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Starting to drag this series, Simon, wife and his sidekick doing the same thing this time back in the boer war, still can't ride, shoot, stumbles through the various conflicts and always come out on top, I will miss the next one........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
I enjoyed this novel with the characters ,although I doubt if the wife would really have a fling with a young journalist!!
I hope they will appear in John Wilcox next novel,maybe the first world war?hpefully not too old!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Im a huge fan of Sharp, but Fonthill really is just as good. Love the characters, such as the ever loyal Jenkins. More please Mr Wilcox!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
A good story,with pace, yet allows the reader space to low his imagination to fill in the gaps. A great description of how politics and social conventions impinge on the military mind. Remembering that much of the strategies and tactics had not change since Napoleonic war.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse