Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2012
I love this book. You have a dead girl who's alive, a romance between her and a man with a dark past, throw in a missing brain washed (kind of) sister, an evil torturous ex-wife, child abduction, and a paranoid genius, and it makes for a fab read. I read it in one sitting and it left me anticipating the next installment.
I didn't think Rachel Caine could improve on her weather warden series, but she has. There is something about her ability to completely engross you in her writing that suspends disbelief in the most enthralling way.
I liked this series so much that I bought copies to give my cousins as gifts.
What better recommendation for a book is there that you're willing to buy it more than once so you can share it with others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
.....Story is different from 'The morganville Vampires' but carries you along on the edge of your seat, you travel through the story looking through the minds of your Characters...very cool journey. Great Storyteller indeed ! You will love these books if you are an avid follower of 'The Morganville Vampires'.

Well done Racheal, another fine series. Wish I had disapline & focus as you do .... Look forward to the next in line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
The revivalist series is gaining traction at a strong pace. Characters are developed and there doesn't seem to be the "clunky" plot points that so many other TA authors struggle with..... By that I mean that the characters choices whether bad or good seem in character and not just a device in which to move the story forward. Interesting series so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
After dying and being revived with the experimental drug Returné, Bryn Davis is theoretically free to live her unlife – with regular doses to keep her going. But Bryn knows that the government has every intention of keeping a tight lid on Pharmadene’s life-altering discovery, no matter the cost.

Thankfully, some things have changed for the better; her job at the rechristened Davis Funeral Home is keeping her busy and her fragile romance with Patrick McCallister is blossoming – thanks in part to their combined efforts in forming a support group for Returné addicts. But when some of the group members suddenly disappear, Bryn is called in to find out what is going on – and suddenly her life is once more turned inside out…

That is most of the blurb. I hadn’t read the first book, Working Stiff, but Caine is far too an experienced and canny a writer to lose readers like me who still insist on picking up mid-series books, so it wasn’t a major problem. I soon came up to speed as slices of necessary information interleaved the action. For the more squeamish among you, I’d like to reassure you that although this is a zombie-chick book, stomach-churning descriptions of rotting corpses are kept to a minimum.

Which doesn’t mean that it’s all sweetness and light – it isn’t. There is a torture scene where the torturer waves a spoon threateningly near the victim’s eyes and mentions how she doesn’t have to hold back. And then we cut to the aftermath. Leaving the reader to join the dots and realise the full horror of being subjected to an extraordinarily painful procedure – then left to regenerate, before having to relive the ordeal all over again.

The pacing in places is a tad uneven, and the story did take a while to get going – which those of you familiar with Caine’s other work, will know is uncharacteristic. But it wasn’t a dealbreaker – I liked Bryn and enjoyed the premise far too much to be remotely tempted to abandon this entertaining book.

Caine brought the narrative to a satisfactory conclusion – while leaving a particular plotpoint regarding Bryn’s relationship with Patrick at an intriguing impasse. So I’ll be looking out for the next book in the series called, Terminated, and if you enjoyed Caine’s other series but haven’t yet given this one a go, then track it down. It’s worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This is the second of Ms Caines revivalist novels and it would be better to start with her previous offering (Working Stiff) as it sets the scene for this book. Can it be read as a standalone book? Yes but not recommended by this reviewer.
It tells the continuing story of Bryn Davis who was murdered and then brought back to life using a new drug. In order to remain alive she has to have an injection of the drug Returne every day whilst trying to remain out of the governments clutches. To further mess up her life she is attracted to Patrick who previously worked for Pharmadene the company behind the new drug who are also responsible for countless deaths.
I thoroughly enjoy the books that I have read my Ms Caine but have to admit I found this a bit of a slow start. In this tale we start to see the hard ex military woman that Bryn has become in order to protect herself and those she loves.O there is still time for romance and I thought the passion in this book was worth 5 stars alone! Lol but what really made this a great book was undoubtedly the last third. A villain that you wouldn't believe and an end that left me breathless and wanting so much more. Just cannot wait for the next instalment! Fabulous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
really liked this book you need to have read working stiff though or you wont really understand. if you like something abit different you will like this. if you have read weather wardens series and morganville vampire series this will be up your street, happy reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Great read. Part two of the series couldn't put it down. A speedy arrival and the packaging was spot on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Book two of the revivalist series
This is about a drug which brings people back from the dead. It is a very good read read one of the best of her series of books and they are all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Rachel Caine again brings a wonderful rich episode to the heroine Bryn's "un-life". With more twists and turns than a twisty twirly thing!! A brilliant sequel to 'Working Stiff'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Can't say enough good stuff about this book. Horror torture and love with adventure and twists and turns. Loved it and you will too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse