Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2017
The book is good condition 🙂
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2005
Students of A level Drama and Theatre Studies should rush out and purchase this - or click now!
It's clear, accurate and suitable both for high flyers and those needing extra support. There are classroom activities (which are somewhat dry compared with some other books on the market) but in my view this is primarily a book for using at home, when revising, researching or investigating a topic for the first time.
The chapters tie in superbly with A level syllabuses. Chapters cover such crucial areas as textual analysis, researching context and theatrical background, reviewing productions, and practitioners - not just Stanislavski and Brecht, but Brook, Grotowski, Artaud and Craig as well. Information on each practitioner - key terms, historical context etc - is logically and systematically presented in a way helpful for students.
Each chapter has extensive suggestions of further reading.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2001
A fantastic read that covers all aspects of drama of theatre studies in such a way that is easy to understand. The format is brilliant and the way in which it's written makes the reader think every step of the way. Covering everything from Stanislavski and "The Method" to lighting and staging this book gives you all you need to know and more. If you are studying Drama at A level or simply want to learn more about the world of theatre then this is the book for you!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Our drama teacher told us to get this book for our Advanced Higher (Scotland) studies, and it covers pretty much all the areas you need to know about and includes good relevant examples and a few practice questions at the end of each section. It also includes studies on famous practitioners such as Stanislavski and Brooke.

I bought mine second hand, and it had a few highlighted sections in Stanislavski but seeing as I would probably do this anyway it doesn't bother me.

The book itself was in excellent condition, it had been read a few times but all the pages were there and the spine and cover were good and it would have gone into this condition in my bag after a few weeks anyway.

A good buy in good condition!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
Quick delivery, very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
A comprehensive record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Just as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here