Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
39
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2017
Excellently crafted binding. It does exactly what it says and more. It has a complete authority over almost all aspects of Physics up to the A-Levels alot more. It's an indispensable Physics student's companion at all levels and a reference. Looking forward to seeing more of its magics of explaining yet many other topics and concepts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Lovely quality - good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
This was for my son he found it useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
If you're doing A level physics, buy this book. It doesn't dumb anything down, unlike normal textbooks it avoids jokes and cartoon illustrations and oversimplified explanations of physical concepts - It explains everything clearly and precisely. You will however need a solid foundation in maths to understand a lot of the areas in the book (but doing A level physics you will need this level of mathematics anyway).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
Muncaster's book is a tome - nearly a thousand pages, and so may look scary for the young Physics student. However, the large friendly font presents all that is required to bridge from school to college Physics is in here.

The subject areas are broken down into logical blocks each comprising of several chapters. All the "core" topics of Physics are in here: Mechanics, Optics, Electromagenetism, Heat & Thermodynamics, Nuclear Physics etc. Each chapter focuses on a specific topic with exposition of theory, experimental techniques and a range of worked examples to communicate the physical concepts.

Each block has an extensive set of problems from past "A" level examination papers dating from the '60s to the '90s. The style of the questions may be considered unfashionable by what is in vogue today, but this style has stood the test of time, and anyone serious about really understanding the subject will gain much from expending effort on these questions. They are ideal preparation for further study in the subject.

Like Nelkon and Parker's book, this will remain a standard bearer for a long time to come. My advice to Physics teachers and students: if you have a budget for just one book, then choose this one.

A reall excellent introductory book on Physics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
I considered a number of similar text books before getting this one. It covers the whole syllabus for A-level and has lots of worked examples which help to explain the theory. There are also many questions with answers given in the Appendix. I would recommend this to anyone doing A-level physics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
This book is perhaps the best textbook that I have ever used, in any subject. It explains things clearly, in a mathematically rigorous way. Since I have started using it, I have felt nothing but hatred for my pathetic AQA "endorsed" textbook. Buy this book, or speak to the physics department at your school - mine had some old copies that they've lent out to the top students. This book will take you up to a standard beyond that required for the current A level course, so if you use it well, nothing in an exam will be a surprise. This makes it particularly useful for Oxbridge applicants, especially those sitting the formidable PAT test. Probably for the more able students, I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
Like another reviewer I also used this book while studying for a BSc Physics and found it extremely helpful. While many texts make huge assumptions on the readers existing knowledge or understanding, Roger Muncaster takes none of that for granted. Buy this book and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
In 25 years I've yet to find a better textbook for A-Level physics. Thorough, clear and straight to the point.

Superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 1999
As the title suggests this is the finest a-level physics book around in my opinion.Not having a very good teacher of the subject at A-level I bought this book as advised and found it to be a fountain of knowledge with some information still useful at 3rd year degree physics while still being very simple to understand----definitely one of the best and most useful books I have ever used!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse