Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20
4.4 out of 5 stars


#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 October 2012
Shire Library, are in my opinion the "Masters of Nostalgia" - they consistently produce high quality and well illustrated books about many aspects of life from bygone eras. This recently published book about Family Cars of the 1970s maintains that tradition and is well written and illustrated, mostly in colour.

Although short (around 70 pages), this book recalls cars from both the UK and abroad that, if you are in your 40s/50s, your Dad may have owned - examples include; the Triumph Dolomite/Toledo, Austin Maxi/Allegro, Renault 12/16, Ford Escort/Cortina/Fiesta and, some more obscure examples, such as the Saab 96 and Simca 1100. These icons are vividly recalled using text, photographs and reproductions of the original manufacturer's adverts. The book also includes some of the motoring accessories of the time such as Denovo run flat tyres and Piranha electronic ignition.

If you are looking for a light read and a fix of 1970s motoring nostalgia then this well produced book is a worthy investment. Recommended.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Bought this book along with 3 other car books. Not as good as I expected, no colour photographs, but it's fine. It tells me what I wanted to know.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
This book follows on from the British Family Cars of the 70 s in the same series. Tells the story of the rise of imports to the UK car market in the 1970 s How advanced designs like the Renault R16 from France, highly reliable cars from Datsun [ later Nissan ] and Toyota from Japan not to mention German and Italian products rapidly made inroads into the British market . A good read for anyone interested in this subject.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Only wish it could have been a bit bigger but there again it was not a lot of money..........copies of good adverts and images from the time and the words explain all about the cars.........a must for anyone who was either driving then or who had a parent who was and can remember the cars of that time............
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
A great book in a fab series. Okay, it doesn't have 'all' the models that you might expect, but it does have a majority of the most popular makes. I recognised the interior of the Marina estate that I had and found the information in the book just about right. I had Maxis, Ren12 Estate, Ren5, Cortina all from the 70's. How basic they really were!!
It's a good value book. Shire seem to be bringing out many different books; how about one on French cars of the 60s, 70s & 80s?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Very interesting reading and the photos of the cars bought back memories. Austin Rover gone and ford make all vehicles abroad now
and other names gone to the history books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
A very nice trip down memory lane, as my parents owned many of these cars when I was a lad. However, this is the sort of book you can read cover to cover in under an hour and there weren't as many photos as I had hoped for. Most cars only got a single picture of the outside. It's a very nice little book for the price, but I would have liked more of everything - text, photos, tables, options, prices, etc. Also, I found the print was on the small side (8 point?). Shire, please do a deluxe version with twice as many pages & pictures :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Enjoyed the trip down memory lane,however felt the book was not as substantial as I had hoped; I wished for more photos and cars for the price. The content is well researched with original press and brochure photos which I liked. The series could be expanded .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
If you want a basic book with an overview of British cars made in the 1970's then this is a decent little book. The information is fairly basic, but there are some good photographs and it is a decent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Just what I expected from Shire Books. Already have a selection of Shire Motoring Albums. This one complements others in the Series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)