Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2010
I had heard tell that this book was a little lightweight in content and repeated information and anecdotes which could be found in the critically acclaimed books previously written by Arthur Ward. For the nostalgics and enthusiasts among us, I should say that this new A5 format softback book actually complements the previous Ward work. For the price, this is one not to be missed by all those who haunted Woolies with their two bobs' and now have their fond memories of those long gone times. Who can forget buying the Boulton Paul Defiant turret fighter thinking that it represented both the Lancaster and Spitfire in one go! Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
I found the book an excellent potted history of airfix, it would have benefited from illustration to support some of literature. I found the illustrations rather small on the kindle version, and I was disappointed with the lack of illustration for such an iconic brand I expected more. It did however evoke happy memories have many happy hours lost in my own imagination whilst building these kits. I read the book from cover to cover in one sitting, it was an interesting read but lacking in lustre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
This is an excellent overview of an iconic company, currently enjoying a major revival in the hands of Hornby. Taken in conjunction with the books covering Roy Cross's artwork, and Arthur Ward's longer book, you have the complete history of Airfix, and the complex characters that formed and worked in the company. Good value for money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I bought this as a present for my Dad. He was really happy with the book which was full of concise and relevant information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
a realy good book with many facts and things i didn't know about airfix. The book went through the history of airfix from when it first started to tbe presennt day. So all in all it's a really good book good for any occasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
Nice little booklet for holiday reading; but I wouldn't bother buying it if you already have one of the earlier Story of Airfix books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2016
This isn't a comprehensive volume like the Arthur Ward and Jeremey Brook offerings but if you're looking for an outline of Airfix at a very reasonable price you've found it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
If you have read any of the works by Arthur Ward you may, as I did, find this publication a little disappointing. I had read it within a day, probably due to the small number of pages, and on reaching the end it was no surprise to see that the four publications written by AW relating to Airfix were listed in the bibliography. This is ok for a quick fix for Airfix fans, (albeit at no small cost), but it will be a while before this one gets a re-read for sure.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Brought for a present but much smaller that I expected - recipient was delighted with it however and said it brought back many memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Bought it as I am a keen modeller. It is a bit basic but it is aimed for a particular market and was still a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)