Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2017
Thi is very interesting book. It is quite short so unfortunately it does make it a bit too condensed and crammed with facts. For readers of all levels an excellent introduction to the subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Very interesting. My mother had to work and she was just 15 doing a man's job as an Insurance Agent.. She so enjoyed this that she stayed working despite mother's demands just to get out of helping in the home. These women almost woin the vote and helped withir campaign. Well worth the mone and to be read over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
At first,I was slightly disappointed to find that this book is only 62 pages long
as I had thought given the title of the book, it would be much longer.
The chapters cover nursing, munition work, on the land, uniform and demob.
There is a good selection of old black and white photos, together with
war posters and memorabilia from that era.
This book is probably best suited to a GCSE student who is looking for some background
information.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
Brilliant book. I am doing a WW1 project with our local museum about women at home and their roles in the war.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
This book is fabulous!
I never really knew much about the first world war because I find all wars really saddening anyway I read this book about the women in WW1 and its amazing how much they did not just for our country, but for our businesses and for women today - for example women were only allowed to wear trousers during WW1 because of the women who took over the mens jobs in factories and farms. Ladies - can you imagine not being able to wear whatever you wanted? It's crazy! But this book is a fabulous read and if you want to learn a bit of history about women's rights get this book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
Really useful well written book abnout women in ww1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
excellent in every respect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Great book, great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)