Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 January 2010
I have no fancy academic qualifications - just an interest in British Roman Roads.

I originally had this book on loan but decided I needed a copy for my own reference. It's well worth reading a couple of times and going back to.

A different slant on the subject, more from the construction point of view, which is very valuable and comes without pre-conceptions other books bring. I like the research method used, based on facts from past excavations. It is a fairly ruthless and un-romantic approach, helping to keep you on the right road (awful pun - apologies).

I personally would have like to have seen more aerial shots, photos, maps - as I need more illustration, but this is very accessible and easy to read, whilst getting through some highly technical stuff and dealing with a number of myths that have built up around this subject.

A must read if you share this particular interest and passion.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2017
Most interesting seeing the fact that a lot of today's roads often partly run alongside them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2018
Very interesting with some revealing insights into life in those times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2016
A really good reference for the subject, although only covering the better known major roads. I was hoping to find information on the lesser known and probable/possible minor alignments. For instance, we have a locally known road running through the village of Kings Caple, Herefordshire, but not listed in 'Roman Roads in Britain.' Nevertheless a worthy addition to a library to complement Ivan Margary's work. Dennis Kenyon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2018
Well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2015
Excellent introductory book on the roads in the UK and their construction. A little more information about where the best places are to see roads would have been nice, especially in the south of England if there is much to see.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2013
im a kee historian and thought i'd put a generic search into the amazon search engine. The book i imagined i'd want was thre in front of me so i purchased it i have read it and enjoyed it immensely and have also learned many things i didn't yet know
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2017
interesting and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2015
A very good book to read as a "entry" into the world of roman roads in UK. It is well written and have lots of illustrations, maps and photos.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2018
Very interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse