Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
401
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2016
This is a fantastic guide to flavour. Features sections with different flavours and what accompanies them. Its really interesting as a read and my only complaint would be it could be bigger!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Very cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Any aspiring cook needs this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Very good value book which gives great ideas for mixing flavours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Great for baking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
This is a unique book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 June 2011
I bought this the other day as I realised, like the author states in her intro, that I am too attached to recipe books. I was hoping that this would inspire me to try new combinations and start a bit more experimentation. And it has. However, before buying its really important to know what this book is and more importantly what it is not.

What this book is not
- a book with detailed recipes (it doesn't really have any recipes at all)
- a book with illustrations of food (there are no illustrations at all of food)
- a traditional cookery book (no measurements, no oven settings, no real cookery guide)

What this book is
- a jumping off point where you identify flavours with a brief guide to examples
- a well written explanation of how flavour combinations work
- a way for budding chefs to try new flavours with confidence

Not all the combinations are to my liking. And you won't be using this as a cooking bible. However, its very readable and as a resource for a budding chef it really takes some beating. It allows you to be creative rather than follow a recipe to the letter. Which is exactly what I wanted from this book. If, however, you are expecting recipes then avoid.
0Comment| 183 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
A useful reference work to dip into when planning a new recipe or inventing something new to produce in your kitchen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Again, another book I bought because of the fantastic colours on the front page. This book is sold by the 'colour wheel' on the front - with no opportunity to read inside. So, thinking this would have colour pictures or pages inside, I bought it. It was a disappointment. Good information, but a bit of a let down if you're expecting 'colour' to be all the way through the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)