Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 June 2014
I am reviewing the teen fantasy Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire by JK Rowling which is one of the best children's novels I have ever read which I bought from a car boot sale. At the time this book was published the fact it was around 620 pages was controversial as people thought it was far too long for children. At that time I think if JK Rowling had published her laundry list it would have topped the best seller list as she was hugely popular. Another unusual feature was a minor character died near the end which is normally a definite no-no in young adult fiction. JK obviously felt she could play with the rules of the genre and the book was hugely popular, the best book of the series at that point and a real game changer in children's fiction as a whole. This book is of course part of the Harry Potter series about a boy with magic powers going to wizard school at Hogwarts. He is destined to kill the evil Voldemort and in this book Harry has a nightmare about him and we see him cross into our dimension. Harry goes to the Quidditch World Cup with his friends the Weasleys and his adopted parents are only too glad to get rid of him. His natural parents were killed by Voldemort a long time ago. There is a competition where they have to complete several challenges and the winner can drink from the Goblet Of Fire. Strangely Harry is entered into the competition and senses something isn't quite right about that. One of the other competitors is Krum from the Quidditch World Cup and Harry feels out of his depth faced with such competition. This was made into a film starring Daniel Ratchiffe as was the whole series. I think the books in general are better than the films as they tell the story in more detail and JK has a fantastic sense of humor that comes out in her books. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and read it along time ago as I did with the whole series but wanted to re-read and do a review on it.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 15 January 2012
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is as equally brilliant as its predecessor, though somewhat shorter, it still manages to fit an entire year at Hogwarts into one book.
Times are becoming harder and the dark wrath of Lord Voldemort is closer than ever, he is gathering more and more followers and Harry's sixth year at Hogwarts is the darkest yet. There is a new teacher (Horace Slughorn) and many more revelations and plot twists to make this book very had to prise yourself away from.
J K Rowling continues to weave the epic saga of Harry and bring to life a world that is not only perfectly described and imagined but also strangely believable. Her choice to darken the tone was wise, as Harry is growing up and the wizarding world is no longer the whimsical, magical place it was in Philosopher's Stone. The plot largely revolves around Harry and Dumbeldore trying to learn as much as they can about Voldemort so that they can get an advantage over him. This involves many chapters with just Harry and Dumbeldore talking about Voldemort - however this is no bad thing, instead Rowling makes her dialogue fast paced and engaging and very informative. The memories that are explored in this book reveal very important plot details and foreshadow things to come in the final book.
Not only does Harry have to contend with Voldemort but romance that seems to be another major theme in this sixth book, Ron finds himself drawn to a girl and Hermione finds herself very jealous. Harry on the other hand finds out that he has been long harbouring feelings for someone very unexpected...
Rowling writes each chapter so fast paced and exciting that they are over before you can say Expelliarmus. Highlights of book six include a journey to a cave where Voldemort hid something very important that could prove vital to defeating him. This scene is very well written creepy and tense. Another good chapter is the climax where a battle with the death eaters wages at Hogwarts. There is also a very unexpected and shocking death (i won't say who dies in case you haven't read it).
Overall, Half Blood Prince is a worthy addition to the Potter saga and by the time i was nearing the end of this book it did feel like the calm before the storm, like this was the last year at Hogwarts before the final, epic battle that will decied the fate of the wizarding world and of Harry.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 3 June 2018
Bought this as a christmas present several years ago and have only just got round to leaving a review! I don't really need to say anything about the book, I think we all know that the Harry Potter books are great - this is also my favourite book of the series! The book arrived promptly and in great condition!
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 22 March 2018
Beautifully written. Amazing plot twists and turns. Page-turning element very strong, as usual. Difficult to follow for young children, but ok for children aged 10 plus. I enjoyed this book and I am 78. It's a high standard HP book which is on the way to explaining Snapes character, and seeming cruelty. It is clever.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 25 October 2014
Bought as a gift. It's a well known book that many others have expressed an opinion about. Only people living under very large, isolated rocks don't know about this. What am I to add to the discussion of it? Very little.

I'm only reviewing it because Amazon requires a review to dismiss items from my items to review list and it's getting cluttered with things that don't really need to be reviewed but there is no other way to dismiss them. I did ask if they could add a feature to remove irrelevant items but they don't seem to want to go down that route. I've just spent hours reviewing items. :(
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 August 2005
Looks like this year Harry has mysteriously mastered stewing potions. This bothers Hermone who sets out to find an answer to his lucky find and has her own theory as to the true nature and name of "The Half-Blood Prince."

Harry also has a few emotions stewing that need a little taming; he seems to be a tad upset over Jenny snogging another student. Things get a tad dicey as it looks like you do not know who to trust as Harry and Dumbledore have a mission.

I think one of the best points in the book is where Dumbledore shows Harry that his fait in the conflict is not because it is written but what he chooses similar to the line from "Julius Creaser" by Shakespeare where Cassius says to Brutus "Men at some time are masters of their fates:
The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in ourselves..."

This story sometimes has the feel that it is going astray with descriptions; however all things tie together and it is necessary to distract you from the core story so you will forget some details only to be reminded of them later.

This is the sixth book in the proposed series of seven and as with the previous books in the series you will want to purchase the book and the Jim Dale recording. Also if you are collecting do not forget to get an adult version.

Before reading this book it is time to read "The Power of Myth" by Joseph Campbell. Or if you are more visual or auditory there is a film series and a CD version. After this you will swear that J.K. Rowling must have read this also before writing the book. You will see the mandatory stages a hero must go through including going through rights of passage such as caves before obtaining adulthood.

If we just stopped with this book it would make a great TV pilot as Harry go on with an endless quest. However we are promised that all things should wrap-up and many do in this book by the end of the next book.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 17 July 2005
After recieving the book yesterday morning, i think its safe to say i was pretty excited, even with the prospect of another harry who in book 5 seemed to think the world was against him, J K Rowling still had me begging for more. But i must say i was definately surprised at what i found, A harry potter who had grown up and it seemed like was back to his normal self! Which as a start made the book better than the 5th already, but apart from that half way through i had the biggest smile on my face, this book is amazing it far surpasses the other 6 and has many funny moments and every chapter is a book in itself, its safe to say i couldn't put it down and by 8pm saturday had finished it. As i finished one of the best books i have ever read i was pretty depressed, not because the book was so bad but the last few chapters are not exactly Noddy's happy adventure. This only made me like it more as it showed just how much i cared about each and every character in this book, with book 6 having a fair bit more romance between many of the characters of the books and a more happy side shown of the war throughout the first part rather than letting that take the whole book over this is by far the best book in the series! and i would recommend anyone who disliked the first 1 or 2 and gave up to just give it another try....then call me and say thanks for the tip! An excellent read and worth every penny and hour put into it.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 17 July 2005
The sixth and second to last of JK Rowling's amazing novels, is as unputdownable as all the rest. We are shown again in to a world we are now familiar with, where Harry is astonishingly adult and perceptive, where he is coming to terms with all the difficulties the last book presented him.
This is a shocking gripping novel, and not for the faint hearted. There is significantly less detail than the last couple, and the plot is the driving force. This sometimes effects the story, and in places it feels rushed as Rowling needs to put so much information in in such a small space.
Having said that, I think it is a worthy addition to the cannon of Potter books, but when the seventh and final book comes out, in my opinion this one will be few peoples' favourite. It is dark and scary, and at times devastating. I wouldn't recomend this to a child of 7 or 8, although the strong themes, such as death, choice and independence would suit an older reader. As an adult, you will be thrilled by it. However it is probably not one I will read over and over like the others, the sense that something dark is on the way penetrates through the entire novel, and there is a lot less humour in it.
These are books that will go down in history as some of the best stories ever, so if you've got any sense, read it!
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
what can i say... Harry potter books are the best books there are! Especially this one! Would recommend to everyone i know of all ages. A jaw gripping g book to get your kids into reading and to have fun whilst they are doing that. A perfect book to gain literature knowledge self-consciously! Great price great book!
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 4 November 2011
HARRY POTTER AND THE HALF-BLOOD PRINCE is the sixth and, in my opinion, the best book in the HARRY POTTER series. Better in almost every way. There was LOADS more humour in this book, i laughed out loud several times. The new characters were either dark, comic or both! The storyline was funnier, scarier, sadder and just better! The action sequences were epic, i could picture everything in my mind very clearly. I almost didn't need the film to visualize. Shorter than the fifth book, ORDER OF THE PHOENIX, HALF-BLOOD PRINCE is highly recommended. Definately worth reading. Read before watching. BRILLIANT! 10/10!
|0Comment|Report abuse