Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2006
My first advice to any potential reader of this book: don't read the synopsis. It tells you far too much about what happens in the story.

Those who have read "The Goose Girl" will have already met Enna, Isi's fearless and outspoken friend. It's not necessary to have read TGG first, but it does help to understand references to past events in this book. It also helps the reader to understand Isi, Enna's devotion to her, and the background to the situation at the beginning of the book, as well as the various powers mentioned.

"Enna Burning" picks up a few months after the end of the first book. The book is divided into four parts, charting Enna's spiritual journey. At first, there is a mysterious prologue, which becomes rapidly clear during the first part of the book, as Enna's brother Leifer begins to act oddly, eventually trying to burn her alive. This domestic unrest is mirrored in the wider situation, as Bayern is threatened by a neighbouring country, Tiran. Enna heads back to the city to be with Isi, now Queen, but she finds Isi is not as she once was: her wind power, once a blessing, is rapidly becoming a curse. Enna's wish to help Isi and protect Bayern leads to her making some reckless decisions, and she is eventually captured. This is probably the most interesting part of the book, as Enna is forced to confront her actions and whether she can survive without her fire gift. I won't say any more, as I don't want to spoil the ending, but I felt very happy and fulfilled after finishing this book. It has a slow beginning, but quickly gathers pace and ends on a wonderful note. Best of all, it made me want to go back and read "The Goose Girl" again.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2006
I loved this book. You don't have to have read The Goose Girl, but it will help you to understand the characters and will make you enjoy this story even more; also, it's definitely worth reading!

The book starts about two years after the end of The Goose Girl. Enna has returned to the forest after her mother died, but her brother is acting strangely. She discovers that he has learnt how to wield fire and use it as a weapon. Enna quickly learns it for herself, but it soon gets out of her hands, turning her against even her best friends.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2005
This book is so good, I simply do not know where to start. It tells the tale of a young woman called Enna, who discovers her secret talent for fire, and how she can make it start wherever and whenever she wants. A fitting herione, Enna must set out to get rid of her dangerous talent, as it is killing her inside.
Before you read this book, I must warn you: YOU CANNOT PUT IT DOWN
If you are thinking of buying this book as a present, make sure that you first get 'The Goose Girl' by Shannon Hale, as this book is a sequel to it. Enna Burning contains further adventures of Isi in it too, The Goose Girl.
If you overlook this book,you have overlooked a magical tale which will be with you for many years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
The second book in the 'Goose Girl' series.
I would say that these books are aimed at the 10-15 year old girl, but both my daughter and I loved them. Shannon Hale is a wonderful writer, she really transports you to the land of Bayern. I would describe these books a more grown up fairy tale, with a strong female heroine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
GREAT addition to the series. I was surprised that I might actually like it MORE than The Goose Girl. Is that possible?

This story is about Enna, don't worry Isi is there! But this is Enna's story. It takes place in the Forest mainly. There is a war brewing and Bayern women accompany their men into war. It is so that they will remember what they are fighting for. There is a powerful language that Enna learns, fire. She needs to learn to control it to save her people and herself. It is a GREAT STORY!!

I also love Finn. I was so glad he was given a bigger part in this book. He is lovely, and is just what a man ought to be. Will romance bloom in the midst of war? Wait and see!

Shannon Hale does fairytale's like nobody else. She is a pro! You need to read this series! Get lost in Bayern!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
After reading The previous book, The Goosegirl, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this - and it was every bit as good if even darker in tone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
After reading The [[ASIN:0747571236 Goose Girl],I was desperate to read the sequel Enna Burning. I was not dissapointed. Hale has created a fictional world that somewhat resembles England in Tudor through to early Victorian times. The characters are easy to relate too aswell, although both Enna and Isi have powers over a natural force (Fire and Wind) and the powers are hard to contain, making it more a matter of imagination to think of them as real people.

In Enna Burning, Bayern goes to war with Tira, a neighbouring country, and both Enna and Leifer (Enna's brother) feel the need to help Bayern win with their powers. After Leifers death, Enna found it harder to contain her need to burn the nearby Tiran war camps and she eventually becomes a prisoner oif war herself...

Enna Burning is beautifully written, and will be enjoyed by lovers of Goose Girl and new readers alike. For 11 up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
I like Enna's firey personality, she doesn't take crap from anyone and although she does make a lot of mistakes in this book I enjoyed reading about her journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
delivered promptly - as described - thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse