Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 October 2003
Perhaps an even better plot than Gaiman's wonderful "Coraline" - not a single word wasted or idea which isn't used more than once. Very funny, great positive heroine and other characters, wonderful internal logic and a couple of excellent twists. And its scary too.
Dave McKean seems to have added a new depth to his illustrations, adding a richer feel to his near-perfect synergy with Neil Gaiman's texts. He echoes the economy of the words, with a small number of key images defining the world perfectly with no superfluous crowding - this is not to say it is sparse - the place is vidily rich - with hints of wolves and perhaps even an elephant if you look hard enough.
The typography is also wonderful for young readers because it virtually scores how to read the text out loud, it is near impossible to read without moving your lips.
The plot is firmly in the world of make-up stories with kids - a ordinary (ish) family in a real house . . . and a little turn of phrase that comes to transform their world. Once you've said "everyone knows that when the Wolves come out of the walls . . . " everything that follows makes perfect sense and generates heaps of giggles too.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
This is a wonderful story that, to me, was really all about listening to your children. Not dismissing them. Understanding what they are trying to say, and taking them seriously. It's about communication among family members, and being open and attentive when needed.

The Wolves in the Walls revolves around Lucy who can hear wolves behind the walls, but her entire family dismisses her assuming she's just looking for attention, and is seen as the "girl who cried wolf". They only believe her when the wolves actually jump out of the walls and take over their house leaving them without a roof over their heads. It is only through Lucy's bravery that they are able to get their house back.

Great story with good morals, would definitely recommend it to children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2017
Review written by Alexa (aged10) in Miss Wild's class.
One night Lucy hears a mysterious sound...
I would say the age range is 7-11. This book is good for people that enjoy mysterious. Only a few of the pictures are photographed, and the rest are really good pictures. Some words are small and some BIG and BOLD.
I really enjoyed this book because the pictures are very good. Also, the story is good for talking about differences and feelings.

Review written by Tilly (aged 10) in Miss Wild's class.
I like the story because the writer, Neil Gaiman, has added suspense to his writing. Dave McKean (the illustrator) has done a good job because I like the look of messy pictures. In the story, it is very creepy. Thestory is left with a cliffhanger. I recommend this book for... everybody! The reason why I like this book is because Lucy is the only one that loves her house and she comes up with all the ideas. The author is the same person who wrote Coraline.

Review written by Caitlin (aged 10) in Miss Wild's class.
I like this story because it builds up a lot of tension. The moral of the story is to listen to others. I like it when certain words are in BOLD. This story is based on a family of 4. I recommend it to primary school children. If you do get this book, I think you will find it very interesting.

Review written by Alfie (aged 10) in Miss Wild's class.
Neil Gaiman (who wrote the book) must have a good imagination. I recommend this book to children because I think it is really exciting and there are not many tricky words. The girl and her family go on a mysterious advernture.

Review written by Zuneira (aged 9) in Miss Wild's class.
I like this book because it's interesting and very fascinating to me. This story is about a girl called Lucy who has wolves in the walls. Many children might like these books and teenagers or adults too, maybe. This is a very funny book and has lots of added detail to it. It is child-friendly! I hope you like it. Neil Gaiman is the author and Dave McKean is the illustrator. This book creates lots of suspense and tension in a good way. The pages look like realistic drawings which is amazing. If you read this, thanks a lot. Hopefully you enjoy it! I recommend this book to everyone.

Review written by Grace (aged 10 tomorrow!) in Miss Wild's class.
'The Wolves in the Walls' is a very good book. Neil is the writer and there are amazing pictures with different fonts like bold letters and small letters. Lucy is the main character who thinks there are wolves in the walls but her brother thinks it's bats, her parents say it's moles and rats in the walls but Lucy was right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2017
Great that it comes with the audio CD. Used with year 4 as an English unit, children were interested in the book and enjoyed using a book with less words than a usual year 4 text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2017
Beautifully written and illustrated by Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean.
A wonderful book for children and adults alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2017
Kids loved iy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2013
Really good teaching resource for KS2, can really get the children thinking from different perspectives to inform their creative writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 February 2014
The world of Neil Gaiman is a weird, unsettling, whimsical place where strange things are lurking just under the surface... and yes, that includes his kids' books. "The Wolves in the Walls" is a perfect example, which mingles Gaiman's slightly eerie storytelling with Dave McKean's equally eerie artwork. It's a perfect story for kids with slightly dark tastes.

Lucy can hear noises coming from inside the walls -- "They were hustling noises and bustling noises. They were crinkling noises and crackling noises." She tries to tell her mother, brother and father, but her mother dismisses the idea that there are wolves inside the walls. After all, "if the wolves come out of the walls, it's all over." So they claim that the noises are mice, rats and bats.

But as time goes on, Lucy continues to hear the wolves "clawing and gnawing, nibbling and squabbling," and feels eyes watching her. And one night, the wolves rip out of the walls, sending Lucy's family running out into the night. And it turns out that wolves are very poorly behaved...

"The Wolves in the Walls" starts out as a very creepy, almost horrific story, with wolves inside the walls and eyes staring from knotholes. But Gaiman's puckish sense of humor comes out in the second half, which shows that the wolves aren't quite as scary as we initially thought. They seem more interested in being the most obnoxious squatters that a G-rated book can show.

And while the story is aimed at children, Gaiman injects some little jokes that seem aimed more at adults ("'What?' said the Queen of Melanesia, who had dropped by to help with the gardening").

Dave McKean's artwork perfectly suits the story as well. It's angular and strangely geometric, with backgrounds that are semi-realistic but strangely distorted, and lots of heavy, murky shadowing. The wolves themselves are the goofiest part of the story, at least when they're partying -- they're rangy-limbed creatures with eyes like glowing yellow buttons.

"The Wolves in the Walls" is a book with both charm and creepy -- in other words, the sort of book that I wish had been written when I was small. Delightful for the more gothically-minded little kid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2009
I am the headteacher of a primary school. I passed the door of the assembly hall as this book was being read to the school by one of the teachers. I could see the children were transfixed, sitting with mouths open in disbelief as the disturbing story unfolded. I crept in to join them and was immediately caught up in the story of the family, driven from their house by the wolf yobs appearing from the walls and helping themselves to clothing, musical instruments and jam sandwiches. They took over the house like a gang of hungry teenagers, whilst the family skulked in the garden. Lucy, the feisty young daughter, was determined to reclaim her beloved pig puppet and her house. She led the family back through the walls of the house, from where they all charged to chase the wolves away. There is a wonderful twist at the end of the story that had the older children laughing and clapping and left the younger ones slightly worried. All seemed to be resolved until Lucy thought she heard elephants in the walls and found squashed jam sandwiches left around the house.
All 115 of us in the hall loved the book. It was frightening, funny and full of surprises. The illustrations were beautiful; dark and slightly threatening but also full of humour, for those who could uncover their eyes and look.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 May 2008
This is one of those very rare books which manages to satisfy every reader. It's a picture book, which is great to read to smaller children (ones who like being frightened I might add). It has a sophisticated text, and the pictures are really detailed, which makes it great for older readers, and it's hilarious, well written and nicely tense, which makes it perfect for parents.

The artwork is more reminiscent of a graphic novel than the usual standard of illustration in kids' books. It adds a real air of menace to the story, which revolves around a family who find that wild wolves and their evil, partying ways are gradually breaking into the house from the cavities in the walls and taking over, forcing the family to retreat and come up with a plan for reclaiming their house.

It is very, very funny and has some lovely twists. Highly recommended. My four year old loves it, although she is rather macabre, so ordinarily I'd go for six and ups for this one.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here