Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16

on 10 May 2010
This book charts Moore Ede's journeys through India and Turkey, as he travels around in search of spiritual experiences. He meets various gurus and attends religious happenings and festivals, in between which he describes the landscape and people.

As you would expect, a man who's searching for unusual experiences in India doesn't have to look far, and it's not long before he meets some extremely bizarre people and gets into some strange and at times frightening situations. Depending which way you look at it, Moore Ede is either brave or foolhardy, as he seems happy to walk around remote parts of India on his own with a fistful of cash, merrily following people he meets to even more remote areas on a promise of meeting spiritual gurus. Happily, he somehow avoids getting mugged, and we are treated to a vivid portrait of India and then Turkey, and their various religions and beliefs. Accounts of his experiences are peppered with quotations from writers, travellers and poets.

The book is full of conflicting ideas and forces - not only the strange juxtapositions and divisions of a developing country, where modern technology, lifestyles and attitudes contrast with ancient traditions and extreme poverty, but also Moore Ede's internal conflicts. He is searching for something beyond rational thought, but can't help analysing his mystical experiences from a rational perspective. Whilst the physical journey has its tribulations, it is his inner journey which proves much tougher.

Having described all manner of magical events, some quite obviously fake and some apparently beyond rational explanation, the narrative progresses to an ultimately uplifting ending.

All Kinds of Magic was a really enjoyable book, extremely well written and researched, that has left me wanting to visit the places he describes.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2017
I could not put the book down. Absolutely loved the book and felt that I was on the journey with Piers. Thank you and blessings Piers Moore Ede.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2013
I am sure there must be some magic left in western religions, as I often feel this magic in places like Holy Island. It would be nice not to travel so far to discover this magic that may be less obvious and well-hidden but much closer to home.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2015
Excellent book, well researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2013
Very interesting , puts life into a new perspective , I was recommended this book by my beautiful sister. I hope she finds her peace. Namaste piers x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2017
Finding a new understanding of the world - stillness and beauty - a deeper meaning and simplicity of being. A magical pilgrimage told in a very beautiful language. Very recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
One of the best books of travel literature! The style of writing is beautiful and engaging filled with adventures and meaningful stories. This book is indeed magical and would be a treat for yourself, and makes a wonderful gift for a friend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2010
All Kinds of Magic by Piers Moore Ede is a book about a journey to look for people who live life differently and who exist in a non-materialistic world. His beautiful writing gives colourful descriptions of alternative life styles in Eastern countries. He searches the mystical beliefs of shamens, sufis, and whirling dervishes in India and Turkey and gives his readers a taste of his reactions to these very unusual people. The book forms an interesting view of travel to fascinating places but also gives reason to think and explore what we may be missing in our busy, western lifestyles. A most interesting read for any open minded people.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2010
It was a joy to read Piers' beautifully expressed account of his time in India. His search for a deeper meaning to his life resulted in many adventures: some amusing,some ("miracles") inexplicable and one, at least, rather terrifying. His vivid descriptions evoked memories of my own trips to India in the 1980's and I was transported back to the land of sights, sounds - and smells! His experiences and reactions left me with much food for thought. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2010
A perfect and uplifting story which takes the reader to a new level. An exceptional travel book, which takes the reader from Honey and Dust. Through India, Turkey and South America, the author searches for a meaning that lies beneath our everyday reality, while leading the reader through an imaginative and at times sensational fantasy universe full of fantastic heartfelt characters and experiences. Highly recommended tale about mysticism, the esoteric and of the art of travel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)