Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Christmas with Elvis Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Pablo Neruda: A Passion for Life
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 May 2009
I'd never read a biography before this one, I'm a bit cynical about the genre because of the sheer number of mediocre, supercilious subjects, so I'd decided if I was going to venture into the category it would have to be for someone special. This book was so addictive! I'd never read any of Neruda's poetry (I will do now). He was so much more than a poet, his story (and the story of Chile in the last century is both heartbreaking and uplifting, profoundly inspirational.
I really liked the way Feinstein approached his subject- with extracts from Neruda's poems and letters, and many quotes from numerous friends of the great man including Pablo Picasso, Salvador Allende, Federico Garcia Lorca, as well as details of his encounters with highly influential men from the last century- Fidel Castro, Che Guevarra, Stalin, Jawaharlal Nehru, Paul Robeson...
I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a REAL biography of a truly fascinating life.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Beautiful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Well written account of a wonderful life that ended far too soon...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Still reading. Interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Pablo Neruda is undoubtley one of the 20th Century's literary icons. But this engrossing book was spoiled for me, by the many and continues grammer mistakes in this Kindle edition. Sentences are repeated,Ssentences stop abruptly and there are many mistake with the text that spoiled the flow of this otherwise good book.
Does Amazon proof read the book after is converted to dIgital?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
A clear account of the life and work of Neruda which offers insight to his poems and his political views
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
Very, very thorough account of Neruda's life. But sometimes I think the author would have been better cutting out some of the minor details or many, many names. I did love the way the author constantly quotes Neruda's poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Wow, what a life, what wonderful poetry i do recommend this excellent book and Neruda's poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
The title says it all. A man who knew how to live and love life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Love this man's poetry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse