Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Destructive Emotions and How We Can Overcome Them
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 August 2017
Not as good as Emotional Intelligence by Goleman. This book is written as more of an account of various conversations and it is difficult to find the facts among it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Great book would reccomend to anyone having a bad time in their head
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
This is tough. A lot if processing. It's eye opening and thought provoking.
Not sure what anyone 'learns' from these types of books but a few pages in I was smiling and raising an eyebrow.

Daniel Goleman is a tough read but it's worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2006
This book was recommended by one of the students of a course I teach on Positive Psychology. I hadnt read it, so took a gamble (despite a couple of negative reviews on amazon) and took it on holiday

It's one of the most inspiring books I've read for ages. It really does hammer home what an exciting field this is, and also how east and west can enlighten each other. I can only assume that those readers who wrote negative reviews were expecting a very simple recipe-book.

The book is a detailed and very interesting account of a 4 day seminar featuring Buddhists and western scientists and philosophers. It really was a "think-together" exercise. They didnt always agree, but all learnt from the experience - as we do. Goleman is his lucid and very positive usual self, and we are introduced to many experts on the subject of emotions.

The book begins with two chapters putting the rest into context. The first gives fascinating evidence that meditation actually changes one's brain structure in a very positive way (so learning about buddhist practice may be very helpful even if you dont want to be a Buddhist). The second chapter emphasises the Dalai Lama's lifelong interest in science (so he is a man to take seriously).

The book concludes with a postscript and suggestions for further reading.

If you are at all interested in destructive or negative emotions (especially anger), or in Buddhism, or in neuroscience - then this book is a must.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2008
I read this book in Dutch, hence I can't really comment on the author's style.

The book is an attempt to bring scientific analysis to bear on meditative techniques and their effect.

One problem (and it's a problem in traditionalist Buddhism as a rule) is that it uses as a central premiss the notion that so-called 'negative' emotions have to be got rid of, whereas Zen Buddhism, for example, and Western psychotherapy approaches the question from 'just being' and 'allowing to be', working through, etc.

Still, the book is well worth a read and contains some useful information.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2007
With a background in both psychology and journalism is it not perhaps surprising that Goleman gives us such an informative and conversational account of this fascinating meeting of minds. Rarely do we find such accessible glimpses into high-level cutting-edge thinking. An inspiring book with messages of potential hope.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Ground breaking thinking from a number of eminent social scientists presented at a week long meeting with the Dalai Lama in such a way it was as if you were there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
Every one should have this taught at every school in every country and land and then maybe just maybe we will have the ideal world we all crave for. It's uplifting scientific hope for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This book has great content and worth a read, it was really helpful to understand more about myself and others around me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
The title promises more than the book makes true... The mind/life sessions organised by the request of the Dalai Lama are meant to help modern science by the insights of Buddhism, and to help Buddhism by the insights of science. The scientists however know little about Buddhism, which hinders the two-way exchange of ideas. Also one should be warned that Buddhism in this book is largely equated with Northern-Buddhism. There are many very interesting parts though, about neurology-tests done on meditating monks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)