Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 July 2003
I found the fifth installation of the Harry Potter series to be darker and much more thought provoking than the previous books. You can really see that Harry is growing up and is struggling to deal with his extraordinary situation as well as the normal teenage dilemmas (mostly involving girls...) The book expands Harrys world even further, with the inclusion of the home of his godfather Sirius Black and the Ministry of Magic. The writing has lost none of its suspense and this is a book which I would recommend highly. Just find a spare few days to read it in, as you wont be able to put it down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2003
This is the best Harry Potter book yet. It is a lot darker than the first four, with new characters and many twists and gripping storylines. Harry is starting his fifth year at Hogwarts. You would think that after the events of last June, he would finally be heard that Lord Voldemort had returned, but, alas, he is not. The Daily Prophet is determined to keep the news quiet. Harry has a crush that rewards him and takes from him aswell. There is a death of a major character and Hogwarts is being interfered with by the Ministry of Magic. A great read and a must for all Harry Potter fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2003
I started reading the fifth Harry Potter book on Saturday and I couldn't put it down. I was hooked from the first page as it all seems to kick off. J K Rowling has out together a fantastic masterpiece for all ages and I have recommended the book to all of my friends! I don't want to discuss the book too much for those who haven't read it, but you can expect excitment and suspense from the word go, J K Rowling lives up to all expectations.I feel the book is put together brilliantly and i look forward to reading the remaining books!
Thank you J K Rowling for putting together a masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 June 2003
Ah, well. After all the hype and hue and cry, it's finally out and it can't possibly live up to it all, can it? Well, sorry to disappoint the detractors, but it does!! If anything, this book is better than the last and at least equal to the third, second and first. I enjoyed reading it tremendously, and was impressed by the character development (we see a very angry Harry for almost the whole of this book). There is a very threatening atmosphere throughout this novel - indeed, even Hogwarts and Dumbledore are far from safe. Read it, enjoy it and await the next one with baited breath!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2003
What an amazing book! The action starts in Chapter 1 and doesn't slow down. Rowling's twists and turns for all of the characters keeps you turning the pages, to the exclusion of all else. Malfoy, Crabbe, and Goyle finally get taken down a peg or two, and we start to learn a bit more of some of the supporting characters (ie Neville, Ginny, and Snape, to name a few). Not only do the characters evolve, but the complexities of the wizarding world, outside of Hogwarts, is starting to unfold and hopefully will be continued. I can't wait unitl the next book!!! Please let it be soon....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2003
After a long wait, we are now able to return to Hogworts for the fifth time and as expectecd Rowling, has not let her readers down on this occassion. Although 768 pages may put you off, each page entices you to read onto the next page to the point when you can't set the book down. for those who hasn't read it I wont give anything away but it will be quite surprising. Hogworts is a different place and lots more extraordinary stuff happen which will give you value for your money. So why not buy this today and as amazon offer lowest prices, buy it here, you wont regret it! Believ me!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2003
I found the 5th book to be rather sad and slightly painful to read because so many bad things happen to Harry. There is very little cheery or positive for the characters going on. Harry is angry throughout and at times belligerant and unlikable. I think JKR has given a "truthful" sequal, what with Cedric's murder and the second rise of V. and the death-eaters in the last book and I admire her for that, yet it adds up to a prickly read for those who love the lighter sides of the previous books. The worst thing about the book? The long wait to see what will happen in the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2003
Won't disappoint Harry Potter fans. Excellent new character to really loath (more than Snape), and we discover more about him in this book. The big death of a main character was well written and discreet, shouldn't upset too many children although I was surprised who it was. I won't give the game away too much though. Read this in 4 days and found it very difficult to put down. Harry is much angrier in this book with good reason but all the loose ends tied up nicely at the end. Can't wait for book 6! Hope she kills off Draco in the next book, preferably in a grusome fashion...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2003
This book is brilliant! Having read the other books, i read this book expecting it to be just as good, but i think it much better! it has a great story line which gives you more of an insight into people mentioned in previous books and keeps you gripped right the way through, i couldnt put it down, i read it in 3 days! This book keeps you wrapped into the story from beginning to end and without any dissapointment manages to capture every aspect of what a good book needs. I would definatley recommend it to any body who has read the books or enjoyed the films, it is a must have!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2003
I felt the this very much awaited for book was slightly disappointing. The who-dunnit aspect of the previous four was missing because as we all obviously know now it was of course Lord Voldermort.
Even so J.K.Rowling has again written another best seller but felt that it could have been improved in some aspects. Theres no getting away from the fact the the nations favourite schoolboy has grown up so will not have so much for us all to learn. But to Fred and George Weasley you make every troublemaker I've ever met look timid!
Good book though can't wait for the next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse