Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
103
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2015
I enjoyed this book. As a big Freddie Mercury fan I am always keen to read anything about him. This book is a frank account of the years his lover Jim Hutton spent with him. Very sad towards the end obviously but does give you a bedside view of Freddie in his final weeks and how this deeply scarred Jim who was with him until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
This review is for the kindle book version. This book gave me a better insight into one of the 1980's best frontmen of pop/rock music, and a lot of it made for more joyful reading than I was expecting to experience, to be honest. This isn't an authorised autobiography nor does it seem to be a 'kiss and tell' ploy. Mr Hutton describes what a wonderful relationship he had with the late, great Freddie Mercury. It's not an OTT book, every couple has their own set of problems, but Mr Mercury and Mr Hutton sometimes came across a more unique set of circumstances and obstacles which Joe Public never has to get through. I thoroughly enjoyed this book very much, it wasn't over-romantising their relationship, it just seemed to state it just as it actually was, although I'm pretty sure there might have been plenty more to add!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
I really enjoyed reading this book and learning about Freddie and Jims lives together but as another reviewer mentioned the final quarter is incredibly depressing. The treatment of Jim by Mary in particular is appalling, I couldn't sleep after I read it. I would recommend this book but be prepared for the ending to really get you down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
Mostly about how many times they cuddled or went to bed, honestly that was the overall picture that came out. Not very interesting, Mercury died a painful death, we all know that so why are people surprised when it's described as it was. A light read, and no, I don't think Mary was a villain of the piece, badly represented. Freddie loved her a long time, and it was his money to do with as he pleased.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I decided to purchase this item for kindle to coincide with Freddie's 22nd anniversary and I was not disappointed. It's a thoroughly enjoyable read and I was hooked from the first chapter. Heart-warming, intimate and a rare insight into Freddie's life at Garden Lodge. Great reading for any Freddie fan and not sensationalist at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
A truly heartfelt and poignant account of a genuinely loving relationship. I particularly admired the candid honesty throughout the book and Jim Hutton's unassuming but fierce loyalty despite being so cruelly shunned from his partners life after his death. This book is a testament to the noble and sweet natured manner in which Mr Hutton has conducted himself
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 June 2014
The relationship between Hutton and Mercury was unusual and potentially interesting. This seems an honest enough account, but although well written, it's a book without much substance. And perhaps that's the way it should be. I wasn't expecting confidences to be broken or secrets revealed and most of us are familiar with Freddie's reputation for excess. There's a lot of tedious repetition; it's difficult to write anything of interest about the numerous times he and Freddie curled up on the settee and watched TV. Or the number of times Hutton returned to his job as a barber at The Savoy.

Given their very close relationship, I was left wondering whether Freddie would have wanted the book to be published; on balance I suspect not. Some things are best kept personal and the chapters dealing with his final days and death felt unpleasantly voyeuristic and I stopped reading. Although well written, it's a dull, flat read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
This boom is a must have for any Queen fan. Sometimes Freddie's treatment towards Jim was very cruel but a lot of that was Freddie's own insecurities, and it is obvious he loved Jim very much. Freddie's last moments are heart breaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Perhaps it's not meant to go unnoticed that the end of the book is much better written than the other 75%. Jim jumps all over the place and it's not easy to read. However, the love, charisma and private insight cannot fail to strike a chord. What an intriguing and colourful man Freddie was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
The book reads like a sugar-coated trash story written from the perspective of an employee who- for a while -served also FM's sexual needs. It borders on tastelessness by revealing details about inheritance feuds and FMs last days. Just like other tales by FM's "inner circle" guys , Hutton strives to make himself look like the most important person around FM with personal "insights" about shopping habits, holidays, the Garden Lodge etc that in fact the entire entourage were part of and not just himself. No wonder Hutton was "banished from the Queen camp" (after "Mercury & me " got published). [This ] surely occurred because Freddie’s band mates, management, family and friends were grieving too" according to Jones, Lesley-Ann. Freddie Mercury: The Definitive Biography: The Definitive Biography (p. 336). Hodder & Stoughton. Kindle Edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)