Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
Aman: Story of a Somali Girl
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 August 2013
This book lays bare the vast cultural differences between different societies and reading it gives an intimate insight into lifestyles and value systems that anyone from a western European background cannot possibly imagine. What struck me most was the positive attitude that Aman had towards her upbringing, without the luxuries that the West take for granted, revealing the strength of the tribal family. With her capture into slavery, however, we see the awfulness and terror of living under a system that allows such atrocities to take place without the protection and security of police or armed forces. Even in Britain, Aman's misery remains undiscovered. Her emergence as someone who has grown strong through her experiences and now has the confidence to face her future is not a 'happy ending' (there can be no happiness in knowing what she really went through) but it is a deeply satisfying and inspirational one. Nevertheless, you are left with the chilling realisation that there are still many others in slavery and who may never find freedom. The book is well-written, (translated) and deeply moving but not a comfortable read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2007
This story gives a detailed insight of a womans struggle for freedom. Amans journey into a world that involves her enduring pain as a child bride, giving birth without the medical resources we take for granted and hemoraging, shows the strength and determination of a strong woman who never gives up despite the many obstacles that come her way. Once you begin to read this book, it is impossible to put down. It is an excellent read.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
I found the book an excellent read, providing an insight into the inhumane treatment of girls in Somalia. In particular the disturbing practice of female circumcision. Aman's journey is one of courage and determination and is a story of incredible human endurance. The book is well written and engrossing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
I was very pleased with this book from begining to end. great story, i felt so sorry for how aman had to live. quite an exciting book and very interesting. well recomended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2003
A very courageous youg lady is Fauziya Kassindja, to have endured the nightmare of being shackled and handcuffed whilst seeking asylum in a "free country" must have been humiliating and daunting. Her courage and faith kept her strong and hopefully by telling her story others will not have to endure such inhumane treatment. Full marks to this young lady and Layli Miller Bshir for their courage and commitment to englighten the world on the cruel fate of women in Africa being forced into Female Circumcision. A book that left me speechless but one that has left huge impact and on a subject that must be not be allowed to continue.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
As title, this book was interesting, but I found it went on and on. Not one for a second read at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
What a read! I found it extremely difficult to lay this book down. I have been ignorant about Somali and also enjoyed the truthful simplicity that depicted all her experiences. I was also surprised to know that some women actually believe in genital mutilation as their spiritual duty.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
Recieved thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)