Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
174
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2014
Not the ending that I was expecting, but shows a little 'courage' on the author's part. Would prefer it if Macro was a little more prominent in the storyline. The greater attention given to Vespasian is also a plus. Right, off to download book three now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
As my recent spate of reading speeds up , i completed the second simon scarrow book in the same time length as the first. The second book picks up as the second legion arive in britain in order to defeat the locals and add the bit of land to the empire. The book follows Cato and Macro as they battle and protect the roman empire , all the while questioning the design of the empire and its running.

The books main battles take place around the thames and cammolodunum (modern day colchester) , as well as this there are rumours of a plot to kill claudius and drastic changes to the empire. On top of this cato must face problems with his love lavinia and more hostility from his superiors.

This book has a lot more action than the first as the battles are more intense and the fights are closer , the writing leads you to really feel about the characters and their are many times in the book where you are wondering and hoping for their safety.

The book also carrys the politics outside of the conquest better and is done in short bursts , so you dont forget about whats happening elsewhere. As its the same characters they are easier to remember and their seems to be only one or two random characters that pop up.

In order to get the most out of this book and to really understand it , you do need to read the first book as their are a lot of references to previous skirmishes and meetings.

The plot is very exciting and isn't just about the fighting , the backstory of love , conspiracy and politics gives it an edge and keeps you intrested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
My 12 yr old son loves the series of books this belongs to
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Both my husband and my son are now hooked to these books!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2009
This, the second book in the series, of which I home there are many more, continues on from where the first book finished. Macro and Cato continue to battle against the Britons and manage to get drawn into a few private adventures of their own.

Although everything is relatively the same as in the first book, it feels like the story has slackened off and that the events of this book are really just a bridge to the third. Macro and Cato continues to entertain and you can see the character of Cato grow as he becomes more accustomed to his job and the men around him.

The story continues to be rather unrealistic in that if anything important happens it always seems to involve the two protagonists. Nothing dramatic ever seems when they are off doing something else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
The popularity of Simon Scarrow's Roman Legion series mystifies me. The first in the series was fairly ropey - wooden characters with stock motivation (if any), clumsy dialogue and a blatant rip-off of Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe formula. It also suffered from "information dump" syndrome, very common in modern historical fiction, where the author's research notes are unconvincingly shoe-horned into the narrative. But I finished it, at least, and decided to give the author the benefit of the doubt and allow for it being a first novel by trying the next in the series.

Eagle's Conquest is astonishingly poor. All of the faults of the first one are compounded by making the heroes (and I assume this in unintentional on the author's part) read like repressed, closet homosexuals who really want to go to bed with each other but live in macho denial. When the Emperor Claudius arrives the book descends into Carry on Cleo farce (again I assume this is not intentional) with every line of dialogue screaming out to be delivered in Kenneth Williams' pantomime drawl.

That was as far as I got; the book went in the charity shop pile. It is amazing that books as infantile and clumsy as this are marketed towards adults when Roman-era fiction by Rosemary Sutcliff, aimed at children, blows it out of the water in terms of authenticity, characterisation, plot and even action which seems to be all books like this boil down to in the end.

Once historical fiction was written by people like Sutcliff, CS Forester, Rafael Sabatini and Alfred Duggan. Now, apart from Stephen Pressfield, all we get is bloke fiction, endless 2nd rate, formulaic rip-offs of Sharpe, based on swearing and peurile violence. Do grow up, boys.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 August 2011
BRIEF STORY DETAILS - SLIGHT SPOILERS

The Britons prove worthy opponents to the sixth century's second legion. Macro and Cato and their commander Vespasian fight some of their hardest battles yet while, in the background, a political plot develops centred on Vitellius.

SAFE READING - NO SPOILERS

I have read all the "Eagle" series in order, followed the careers of Cato and Macro with great interest and eagerly await the already pre-ordered "Praetorian".
Not the heights of Literature (nor pretending to be), but well-written nevertheless, the series is filled with his great depth of knowledge, enthusiasm for and interest in the Romans.
Cunningly peopled with all the names from our history lessons - Vespasian, Cladius, Caratacus, Boudica - and the Roman campaigns to extend the Empire but centred on two Roman soldiers who become unlikely close friends, Macro and Cato, their careers and friendship carries the stories along. Following them closely allows the intimate details of human life to be in the forefront while the everyday lives of Roman soldiers and the political intrigues of the Roman Empire provide the backdrop.
Despite slight flaws, I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
An absorbing detailed feel of life as legionary in the roman army of that period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Good Story, spoilt by so much for foul language
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
excellant item well packaged and as described
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse