Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2003
I didn't recognise this book from the boring publisher's review above. Fran is now working in a trendy pizzeria - once Jimmie's SpudBar - as a waitress, and rehearsing at night in a production of The Hound of the Baskervilles to take place above a local pub. She has suspicions about the pizzeria - even more so when she hears a young boy asking for someone called Max at the back door, and then being ordered away. Later she meets him and after hearing his story, believes him. He is then pushed under an underground train and Fran and Susie Duke - the private detective's widow from the previous book - set about looking for the sinister Max. I was disapointed when the Mitchell & Markby books stopped as I really enjoyed them; I was nearly as suspicious of this very young, bolshie street girl as Fran is of the pizzeria. But I have now got into the books and like them very much. What is more, they are re-readable, which is my own test of a book. I look forward to the next Fran Varady in Feb 2004
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
I found this a very engrossing story, couldnt get enough, and continued reading throughout the night to get to the end.
Ann Granger certainly knows how to grip her readers, and this is one of her best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
I have always been a fan of the whodunnit, especially on those chill wood-smoked autumn evenings and having found Ms Granger some years ago my fireside reading is thus guaranteed for the years to come, not least through the pages of the Fran Varady series. Truly excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
I found this book in a holiday villa when I had run out of books to read and I must admit that it didn't jump out at me as something I really wanted to read. But..........it turned out to be a really good 'detective' novel. Fran Varady is an unusual, young, punkish, accidental detective who gets involved in investigating people trafficking.
Ann Granger is definitely a writer to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Things are on the up for previously home less amateur detective, she' got a job, a home and is in an amateur theatre production, but as usual things just happen to Fran.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Received publication within advised time, always enjoy Ann Granger novels, with
herione, Fran Varidey have already read this one and not dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
it is easy to read. Keeps me interested and want to keep reading. Like the fact it is written in series form so know the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
I have really enjoyed this series of books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Love these books totally satisfied!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
easy to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse