Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
76
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2002
Staying at Daisy's is the latest in a string of delightful books by Jill Mansell. Mansell's forte is writing funny, charming stories that admittedly aren't deeply profound - but they aren't mindless and characterless pabulum either. Staying at Daisy's is about a woman who manages the country hotel owned by her totally irresponsible father, Hector. At the start of the novel, Daisy finds out that her husband is not what he seems to be on many levels, and throughout the story she's painfully reminded of what a jerk he really was. Her story is about learning to trust enough to take a big risk again. But along the way, we're treated to several lovely sub-plots (another one of Mansell's very strong points) involving Hector, an aging singing star, Tara the hapless chambermaid, a porter (who despite his devotion to Daisy, unwittingly brings her much pain), Daisy's goofy and lovable boyfriend, Tara's sweet (but definitely not prim and proper!) aunt Maggie, just to name a few. Oh, yeah - let's not forget Dev, the gorgeous and self-assured former rugby player turned management consultant who's out to prove to Daisy that she deserves more than goofy & lovable (and safe) in a man. Throw in a mutt of a dog, a baby, a philandering newlywed groom with a wife that turns out to be a bit of a surprise - well, you've got an entertaining and fast-paced story that you won't want to put down. In the end, everyone gets what they deserve - including the reader!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2002
Staying at Daisy's a brilliant book by Jill Mansell, I had been looking forward to her latest book being published and Jill was true to form in producing an excellant read that I did'nt want to put down. You could loose yourself in the characters and feel as if you were at the hotel. In her amazing way of writting all the characters somehow touched on each others lives making it a truly enjoyable light hearted read with Daisy the main character seeing everyone else pair off finally getting to grips with her ideal man.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2002
Having read, enjoyed and kept all of Jill Mansells previous books, I was not disappointed with her new offering. This has been my favourite so far. I loved all the characters, the way their lives were interwoven together. Dev the lead man sounds yummy! A wonderful, light-hearted read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
I've read this book myself and enjoyed it very much, it's now been a while and I can't remember what it was about so I plan on reading it again. I also bought it for two other people, both of which enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2004
This was the first novel from Jill Mansell that I've read and I found it to be a fantastic novel.
Although it has background info that takes you into the life of the characters and surroundings, it has a light context which makes it easy to continue turning the pages. With lots of laughs and suprises, it makes for a perfect quiet weekend or holiday book to have by your side.
I can't wait to get stuck into the rest of her work! ENJOY!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
I have now read quite a few of Jill Mansell books, they are very delightful chick-lit, what I love about her books they all have sub plots in them.

Daisy MacLean has just lost her husband in a car crash, but before he died she wanted a divorce as he was a no good husband, he was a liar a cheat and was unfaithful she finds this out after his death. Daisy runs a hotel in Colworth that belongs to her father Hector, who is very flamboyant, who has a secret himself.

Tara is the chambermaid at the hotel and a good friend of Daisy,she is also a good time gal and Tara is found in a compromising position with the groom, at a wedding reception at the hotel who is her ex boyfriend, who is to blame Tara or Dominic? Tara has to grovel to Dominic wife to be, to make sure that Annabel will still marry Dominic, after all the trouble this compromising position has caused.

Barney writes a letter to Daisy, thanking her for the kidney that he receives from her dead husband, he turns up at the hotel to meet her, and sees a job being advertised as a porter, applies for the job and immediately he is employed at the hotel, and falls quickly in love with Mel and her son, and she also has secrets of her own.

Maggie is Tara Aunt, and Tara lives with her, but Maggie has also secrets of her own which has been going on for 2 years.

Going back to Daisy, she meets the best man Dev at the wedding who is gorgeous and a former professional rugby player, he falls for Daisy as soon as he meets her, but Daisy tries not to get involved as she feels that he is no better than her husband was. Josh comes back on the scene who is an ex boyfriend of Daisy, and she feels safe with him, who does Daisy end up with Josh or Dev? You will also meet the lovely Clarissa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2002
Another classic from Jill Mansell. Having read all of her novels feel that this is surely one of the best yet. I don't know how she does it, but Mansell has an amazing ability to completley loose you in her story world, and what a welcome escape from reality! Once again she manages to capture the hearts of her audience with lovable, true to life characters. You can't even help loving the baddies ! The hero of the story stole my heart from the onset ! Can't wait for the next one and the next and the next..........
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2003
I have read a couple of other Jill Mansell books, but this is definitely my favourite. Like her other books there is a good ensemble cast of characters. Along with our heroine, Daisy, there is kindhearted chambermaid Tara, who everyone sees as a blonde good time gal. There is sweet porter Barney and his secret; there is Daisy's OTT father and various other guests and villagers that make this a lovely tale.
Anyone who has read Mansell's books knows to expect a happy ending, but it twists and turns before it gets there, and whilst slightly predictable, you like the characters so much you don't mind. All in all an excellent 'feel-good' book and pleasant read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2004
Staying At Daisy's is a witty clever book. Mansell keeps you guessing thoughout with the clever turns she's added. Definataly a great read without a boring chapter! Mansell makes the charcters so believable and individual. This was the first Jill Mansell book I read and I enjoyed her light witty style, Staying At Daisy's is a fantastic read that will keep you hooked and is worth all 5 stars!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Okay, this isn’t one of Jill’s newest books, but to my eternal shame I am quite a new convert to the joys reading Jill’s stories provide and this is one that I know I’ll keep coming back to. Ms Mansell is a master of the multiple-threaded storyline and I admit that whenever I read one of her books, I am flicking back and forth for at least the first thirty or forty pages until I’ve got the many characters and how they integrate with each other down straight.
The Daisy in question here is the manager of a country house hotel around which the storylines converge. Widowed and quite happy about it, Daisy’s best friend Tara is the unwitting cause of nearly ruining a wedding. From here on in, we’re taken on a roller coaster ride whereby Daisy is unknowingly being wooed by an ex-rugby player Dominic; her father, a rather eccentric Hector, woos a shallow actress who is in hiding whilst recovering from cosmetic surgery, not realising that a lady with which he has an ‘arrangement’ with could actually be ‘the’ one; Barney turns up with the single intention of thanking Daisy for saving his life, finds he also loves the area and ends up working as a porter at the hotel, whilst also stirring up a hornets nest with the introduction of his girlfriend whose son is the result of an affair she had with Daisy’s late husband.
Confused? Good, because the above is a very simple summary of only a few things that occur in the pages of this story that is a romance at heart, but reads as good as any thriller I’ve ever read. If James Patterson would go back to writing as well as this book, I may even be tempted back. Until he does, to all those of his lapsed readers, I can wholeheartedly recommend you all to give Ms Mansell a go and ‘Staying at Daisy’s’ could not be a better place to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here