Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 September 2007
This was my favourite of the three books, though it's still undoubtedly light and frivolous. The tone definitely darkens towards the end, and we finally get some almost-real emotion as Josephine is forced into divorce from Napoleon.

Napoleon himself is reduced to an erring husband rather than the political figure that he was, and the love between Jospehine and her children gets almost sickeningly cloying.

Having said all that, this is a good light read that rattles along nicely, perfect for the tube, bath or bed when you don't want anything that makes you think!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2001
A great picture of Josephine's life, this book is addictive. Having read the first two books, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this, and I was not disapointed. The book is really well researched, not only about Josehine, but on all the characters, who all recieve the Gulland treatment. Standout characters include HOrtense, her daughter, Eugene, her son and all of the imfamous Bonaparte clan.
it not only explores the historical aspect of her life, it handles with delicacy her quests for a child and her somewhat rocky relationship with Napoleon. It includes enough facts to be understandable, but not to many to be boring. I would recomend this to any lover of good fiction and it is a must for people with a love of historical novels.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2016
Just could not put this book down .
l have read all of Sandra Gullands books she makes you feel you are living the history , at times l felt Josephines anguish that made me emotional and upset ! l came away wanting more , l am now reading Kate Williams book about Josephine it is well written very factual .
But The last Dance On Earth makes you feel as if you are Josephine or at the very least her confidante which makes factual history more
absorbing rather than dates etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2001
Gulland continues spinning her masterly tale of Josephine's life with Bonaparte. The fortune tellers prophecy is finally fulfilled as Josephine becomes Napoleon's empress. However, heartache soon follows...
I found this book every bit as gripping as the first two books. Gulland really has managed to give Josephine a voice. It is impossible not to get caught up within the narrative. I loved the way the book, although based upon historical facts, manages to make you feel as though it is completely fresh and occurring with each turn of the page. It is difficult not to empathise with the character of Josephine and feel for every event that effects her life.
My only problem with this book was that it was the final one. I loved it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
A well written novel giving the reader a taste of life under Napoleon's reign and the love felt between him and his wife Josephine. The amazing relationship they shared was unique and showed the strength of Josephine's love for her husband and family right up until the end of her life.

b
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
Wow ! I didn't know what to expect from this book but from the first page i was hooked.
The second in the trilogy is not so spellbinding but entertaining all the same, have yet to read the third, so, watch this space.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
Truly an excellent read. Could not put this book down. Aside from transporting me into the cast, such as the quality of writing I cried real heartfelt tears on more than one occasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
The final book in the Josephine trilogy and it maintains the quality of the first two books. Engrossing and historically fascinating. This book stands up to repeated reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
i enjoyed the third part of this story it gave me lots of information as well as being a good story i also enjoyed the pictures, special dates and letters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
One of the best books I've read
The words flow so well it is a pleasure to read I read all three books in less then a week
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here