Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


on 5 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2017
Rather long-winded but I have thoroughly enjoyed the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2002
When a spate of murders occur at the Temple of Horus, Queen Hatusu's Chief Judge in the Hall of Two Truths Amerotke is called to investigate...
The plot is engrossing, and the murderer, unlike many murder mysteries, is not obvious, making their revelation at the end of the book a satisfying conclusion to a very entertaining story.
Whilst the murders are a little melodramatic and contrived at times, what really makes this book is Paul Doherty's attention to historical detail, and his grasp of ettiquete and customs of Ancient Egypt and hang of the cutthroat world of Egyptian court politics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 1999
This is the second of two books to focus on ancient egypt. The detail is good - and mostly accurate (always a good sign!). Doherty has made his main characters three dimensional and believable. This was a compelling book, and I found that I just couldn't put it down. It is as good as the first book, and I highly recommend both, for fans of both detective fiction, and those interested in ancient Egypt, and for everyone else who likes a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2014
Really getting into these detailed Egyptian murder mysteries...am now.starting to get to know the chief justice amerotke ..l like him...lots
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2016
Awesome series. Awesome author.

I never heard about this author before I came across this series.

I loved this book as much as the others in the series.

I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2012
I like the way Mr Doherty writes and have read most of his books... all sorts of differant history subjects with the murder twist... put them on my kindle as enjoyed them years ago and am having a catch up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2000
Judge Amerotke, the latest in quite a lineup of amiable sleuths from the seething pen of Paul Doherty returns for a second outing in this book. This time the priests are not happy that Divine Pharaoh is a woman despite her riding forth in best Boadicea fashion at the head of the army and giving thos is that, as there has been no previous case of a woman ruling Egypt, how can Hatusu (Hatshepsut) dare to flout convention? Soon after her victorious arrival in the Royal City there is a death in the Temple of Horus and this is taken as a sign that the gods are angry. Then there is the mysterious labyrinth out in the desert where so many Egyptians died during the reign of the Hyksos and when people start dying like flies. Who are you going to call?
Amerotke of course and his trusty sidekick, the dwarf Shufoy. If you like the Paul Doherty style you will enjoy this hugely. Sinister cults, people being horribly murdered, squalor side by side with luxury and everywhere, from courts to markets, bursting with intrigue most foul. The pace never flags, and despite all this larger-than-life flamboyance, Doherty's Egypt has the ring of truth about it. We are far from the theme park gloss of Jacq but it is not all gloom and doom either. These are civilized people with a love of life and luxury, but this is the ancient world and they don't behave as though they had been wafted back from the 1990s. Doherty has done his homework well and it shows. Personally, I enjoyed this novel thoroughly and look forward to the next one. If you like Judge Dee you will love this too.
Rachel A. Hyde for The Charlotte Austin Review
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2013
Excellent read,good plot keeps interest at a high level particularly as egyptology is my favourite area. A book to be recommended to all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2016
Another great book by this author. Lays the groundwork for a thrilling series of mysteries. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here