Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2001
Reading Faye Kellerman is like catching up with an old friend: one of the most engaging aspects of her writing is the development of the key characters from one novel to the next. This is no exception, and it is both pleasing and satisfying to re-encounter the Decker family and Peter's police colleagues.
The plot of The Forgotten is tightly drawn and, as always, neatly tied up at the end. Fans of Kellerman certainly won't be disappointed. I'd recommend, however, that new readers start a little earlier in the series to avoid frustration and confusion resulting from allusions to previously constructed scenarios and characters. On the whole, this is a worthwhile read - not in the ranks of the best of Jonathan Kellerman or Patricia Cornwell, but rewarding nonetheless.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2001
Detecitve Pete Decker is back. Once again Faye Kellerman intertwines his family and proffessional life superbly. The vandalism of Pete and his wife Rina's synagogue allows the author to explore the outrage and hurt felt by the whole family. But there is a puzzle to be solved, a baddy to be hunted down and Pete Decker is on the case. There are numerous tiwsts and yet even when all seems to be revealed there is still a race aginst the clock. How many lives wll be damaged? This book is an exploration of the evil acts that a human can perpatrate aginst another - never excusing, yet offering some insight into how a damaged child can become a hateful adult. Pete's limitations as a husband and father are highlighted as he races to solve the crime and tries to protect his youngest step-son from the perils of growing up. Whilst Pete's family are an important part of the plot, this is also an excellent police procedural and all the old faces are there! Don't worry if you haven't read Faye Kellermans other novels - this will ensure you'll read the rest!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Faye Kellerman is definitely the No 1-crime fiction writer of today, and ranks up there with the best novelists of police and crime thrillers.
She has not in any way lost any of her talent for keeping the reader glued to the book, and opening up a world of intrigue and mystery.
This book proves Kellerman's skill at moving skillfully from the homely to the horrific, from warmth to horror, from heroic to diabolical.
In an age where the hideous anti-Semitism is on the rise again, in measure never seen since the fall of Nazi Germany, the story begins with the hideous desecration of Peter and Rina's local synagogue, through the world of shady White Supremacist type groups, teenagers corrupted into insanity by their parents, whose own 60's radicalism, in my opinion, was the root of all the evil, drugs, bizarre sex rituals and murder.
Of course Peter and his teams determination and Rina's sanity and compassion helps restore truth and balance. Rina's rebellious son Jacob plays a big role in bringing this one to being solved.
On the downside I would have liked to see some more of Cindy , and Marge's stepdaughter Vega.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2004
The first thing that attracted me to 'The Forgotten' was it's cover (on occasion, and without God's help, we can all feel lost). Set on a sea front: it's like an isolation play from the dark hills of Brownsville; or, a fourth quarter 'quick-play' from the machine that was the Utah Jazz's 'pick-and-roll' offense. This slow moving, but steady-pounding, and, relentlessly grinding and meandering 'slow-mo' novel WILL, in due time, wear you down. With the long-standing folmula of the classic 'who-dun-it'; which at worst, will leave you wanting more; and, near it's best, will leave you weak at the knees, it remains a job well done. Make no mistakes about Kellerman's professionalism; this is a gritty 'drag-it-out; whatever' thriller. It left me thinking - 'There is always ONE nutter out there that has the brain to mess it up for the rest of us'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2007
When Rina Decker's Orthodox synagogue is obscenely and viciously vandalised, complete with Nazi graffiti and pictures of Holocaust victims, she calls in her husband, L.A. Police Lieutenant Pete Decker.

Decker investigates and unmasks the chief suspect, the son of wealthy parents, Ernesto Golding, at a local school, who strangely enough happens to be Jewish. Decker decides Ernesto is truly sorry and manages to keep his record clean. However the boy has to undergo counselling at the hands of a pair psychologists, Doctors Merv and Dee Baldwin.

Then Ernesto and the Baldwins are murdered and Decker remembers that Ernesto had told him that he suspected his grandfather wasn't really Jewish, that he was really a Nazi and that he only posed as a Jew to escape to South America after they war. Decker wonders if this might somehow be the key to the murders. This fuels his hunt for more suspects like local hate groups, computer hackers and dangerously misguided teens with a perverse affection for Nazism.

There is a fairly high body count and a fair share of violent thrills in this fast-paced thriller that is guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat. Add that to Ms. Kellerman's reflections on religion and the Holocaust and you wind up with a book you'll be thinking about for quite a while after you finish reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
I LOVED this book. I joined the 'family' half way through, having discovered the author had written previous novels introducing the members of the family - which I will now most definitely read. This book was so well written, it had me gripped all along. I loved the characterisations and the religious details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
I find all Faye Kellerman,s books an excellent read, this is no exception. I love the plot, the characters and the flow of the book the ending was not quite what I was expecting but that is fiction after all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really enjoyed the story for the most part. Decker's relationship with his step-son develops well, but I would like to have seen his daughter Cindy somehow involved in the plot.
The characters were pretty well defined, particularly Ernesto Golding's parents.
My one real reservation on the book was the ending by which the perpetrator was "bought to justice". It was unsatisfactory, contrived and a trifle unclear to me, as if Ms. Kellerman couldn't come up with a better conclusion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I started to read about Alex Cross by chance, I find the story line and twists very much to my liking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here