Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
22
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2017
love the many twists to get to the solution
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Very well written. A most enjoyable read. I couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The author Peter Tremayne obviously has a great knowledge of Ireland in the 7th century and also on the Irish Law of the period. His Sister Fidelma book are attracting what can only be described as a cult following, but they are of interest to anyone who likes historical novels or mysteries. This series of books are set in Ireland in the 7th century, a time when there was total equality for women. The lead character is the beguiling Sister Fidelma. She is a brilliant scholar, a leading authority on Irish law and the sister of a king. This is also a period in history when celibacy was not yet a part of religious life.

AD 666, an old monk and a set of relics have disappeared during the night from the Abbey of Imleach. Obviously the monk who has gone missing is of great concern to the Abbey, but the missing relics are of much greater concern. The relics are the political symbol of the entire kingdom and their disappearance threatens to undermine the peace and stability of the land.

While on a visit to the Abbey, Sister Fidelma is asked to investigate the matter and with the help of her friend and companion Brother Eadulf, Fidelma begins slowly but surely to unravel the mystery, but there are people who will stop at nothing, including murder to achieve their way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2000
Another superb story from Peter Tremayne. This book was a book I couldn't put down. Peter Tremayne really brings his characters alive- a real rival for Ellis Peters! If you have never read Peter Tremayne before don't worry, his books are easy to read, exciting till the very end and can be enjoyed again and again. This story is I believe one of his best as the secrecy and mystery surrounding the murders that occur makes this story truly life-like.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2000
Another superb story from Peter Tremayne. This book was a book I couldn't put down. Peter Tremayne really brings his characters alive- a real rival for Ellis Peters! If you have never read Peter Tremayne before don't worry, his books are easy to read, exciting till the very end and can be enjoyed again and again. This story is I believe one of his best as the secrecy and mystery surrounding the murders that occur makes this story truly life-like.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Although the story initially unravelled very slowly it held my interest. In true Fidelma fashion, she kept me guessing right up to her 'performance in court, when like the finely tuned lawyer that she is, she revealed first the plot & then the culprit . Thank you to Peter Tremayne for yet another good read with some interesting historic facts tucked away inside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
What an enigmatic tale told here judge for yourself as the
World weary duo solve another mystery.
Where does Peter Tremayne get his mysteries from? How does he keep the story alive?
When will he find the level of the tale?
What is Sister Fidelma going to do next!? As long as he does keep Fidelma alive so
Will we.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
As is usual with Tremayne's Sister Fidelma, it is a pleasure to read them. Always interesting and I love the historical facts that accompany every story - I'm even wishing Britain had Brehon law! One thing I would find helpful: how to pronounce the names!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
Maintains the standard of other books in the series. However, I feel that we now know enough about the early history of the Celtic Church and the structure of regional monarchy and less detail would suffice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse