Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
18
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2015
I enjoyed this book except for there being so many references to the Jewish faith that I had to keep re-reading and using the dictionary to understand who was being talked about. There were quite a few errors in the book where words were being repeated from the end of the sentance above which was rather confusing. Also I thought it was going to be a mystery/thriller but turned out it was more about Decker's love life, or lack of. Just hope that the next books are more about the title rather than Decker and his family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
being a reader of her husband's(jonathan kellerman)thrillers i thought i'd give it a go and was pleasently surprised.

her style is completely different,not so formal and less technically descriptive,but well researched (the covering of the jewish life style was quite interesting) and gripping at the same time.

another thing that was putting me off was knowing that the two main characters of the series meet and become a couple,as i'm not into romances at all.however their budding relationship was so well written and the characters so likeable that i actually found this aspect of the story just as gripping!so shame on me for being so narrow minded!

basically if your'e a fan of crime/thriller/murder novels i don't think you'll be disappointed. faye has an easy reading yet distinctive style (that is rare among the hundreds of crime writers around today)and this is an impressive debut novel. i'll definitely be ordering the rest of this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
I like the information about Judiasm as much as the detective bits. I am a Jewess who doesn't know enough and I'm enjoying Peter Decker's journey learning about his Jewish roots as much, if not more, as the incredibly good mystery. It has made me want to know more. I am really adducted to these books and shall be buying more like now. Thank you Faye Kellerman for letting me know more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Would have enjoyed it more if it had been printed properly. Words were missing replaced by repeats of the previous word of a sentence quite a few times. Obviously not a very good proof reader!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
Must begin my review by immediately confessing that Faye Kellerman isnt one of my favourite authors, although i ve read a couple of her books. Doesnt even come close in my opinion to certain best selling authors, and even to some who arent on the no. 1 lists. This book here, once again failed to give me the thrills, that i expect to get from a good mystery novel. I found myself much more interested in Decker s love life (or lack there of)than in the case being investigated. Half of the book is dedicated to the private affairs and religious conflicts between Decker and his girlfriend, which i quite enjoyed but to be honest i feel that it was put there as an attempt to mask the inadequacy of the plot, which was very unimaginative. Having said all this, i will read more Decker novels cause i found him a very likeable fellow, and even just to see how the story with Rina evolves. However i hope that the next ones are much better than this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 March 2010
Los Angeles detective Peter Decker has been dating orthodox Jew Rina Lazarus for a few months now, things are going well but Decker knows he must gain the trust of her two young sons and learn more about the Jewish faith before he really has a serious shot with Rina. So Peter decides to take Rina's two young sons Sammy and Jake on a camping trip to the foothills above L.A. Everything is running smoothly until the two young children stumble upon the charred remains of two young women.

Instantly Decker is thrown into the case to discover the identities of these young women. It's a case that will take him into the underbelly of Los Angeles where drugs, abuse and prostitution are rife. We're also following Rina as she copes with the health of her sons as they battle nightmares after discovering the bodies and as she struggles to decipher where her relationship with Decker is heading.

This is yet another stonking read from Kellerman following her debut: The Ritual Bath. Her characters are beautifully real and readable with a fast moving and compelling storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
A terrible book -- total waste of time. As a crime book it is poorly written but as a book for anyone interested in becoming Jewish could probably be of value. This is the last book that i will read by Faye Kellerman,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Not one of Faye Kellermans best novels. It started promising then bombarded the reader with Deckers relationship with religion and ended up being like a religious manual. I couldn't finish this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I usually enjoy Faye Kellerman but found that this particular book actually bored me. I think there is far too much Peter/Rina relationship and too little crime solving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
I really enjoyed this book, would definitely recommend it to friends. Storyline is easy to follow & unlike some crime novels you don't get confused half way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here