Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
45
4.4 out of 5 stars
50 Things to Do on a Plane (Usborne Activity Cards)
Format: Cards|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 August 2016
An excellent pack of cards with games and things to do for all ages. With 50 in all it takes time to choose an activity ,then more time to carry it out and your there before you know it. Apart from the cards you get a marker so if you have more than one child you may want to buy some more. These cards although designed for a plane journey they could be used anywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Ideal! My grandchildren - 7 & 9 - found these activity cards fun and they kept them occupied during boring moments in the airport last week. 10 out of 10n
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
ENTERTAINED MY 7 YEAR OLD GRANDSON IN THE AIRPORT, ON THE FLIGHT, DURING THE HOLIDAY, AND ON RETURN FLIGHT.....EXCELLENT VALUE
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
pack of cards, same size as a small book will fit easily in hand luggage
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
My little girls (2 and 4) loved this. I had to help them with it as they can't read but they loved drawing on the cards. Highly reccomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Very useful when traveling. Kids loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Brilliant kept us entertained for ages x great idea
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 August 2013
This product is so much more than just something to keep your kids out of your hair on your next flight. It's an odd sort of title for it really, given that the activity cards don't even have any sort of travel theme. Perhaps it could more appropriately renamed '50 Things To Do When There's No Telly or Computer Around'?

I bought this earlier this year for my two little relatives (aged 8 and 5) and, admittedly, they were on their way to savour the delights of Heathrow's Terminal 3 at the time. But the cards were reportedly much more popular when the family reached their destination and were out and about in restaurants and on the beach. In fact they continue to be a handy little device for keeping the girls happy even now they are no longer part of the jet set. There's no actual suggested suitable age printed anywhere on the box, but the activities vary in difficulty. That gives the opportunity for older children to grapple with something like a word search while any younger siblings can let rip with a dry wipe marker and doodle things on the cards that are more suitable for them.

On the subject of dry wipe markers, you only get one pen included with these fifty double-sided cards. Clearly, that could result in some rather unpleasant scenes if you are dealing with more than one child so it might be worth your while investing in some additional markers purely in the interests of keeping the peace. Actually, getting a few different markers (perhaps in a few different colours too, to encourage the creative expression of any half-pint Leonardo da Vinci) is not a bad idea anyway, given the likelihood of the pen that's included somehow running into difficulties along the way. All it takes is for a pen like this to become estranged from its lid for half an hour and it seems to be very much a case of Goodnight Vienna. Oh, a few wet wipes might come in handy as well, for erasing purposes. It certainly beats spitting on your hanky and using that. No? Oh well, that must just be me then.

These cards are large and very strong, as well as being very bright to look at. Mazes, word searches, codes, doodling, puzzles, games and even a crossword, that's what you'll find inside. There are a few games that specifically require two people in order to play them, which is perhaps worth bearing in mind. Especially if you ARE on a plane with a youngster, a box of these and any number of must-see movies on the inflight entertainment system. It might just be worth keeping those few cards to one side and 'releasing' them only at a time you feel is mutually appropriate. The cards are numbered though, so such an action might just be noticed. Good luck with that one.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
Some great ideas for slightly older children but very few for children aged under 5. The cards are wipe clean but I'd advise taking an extra notepad as they don't completely wipe clean after multiple usage.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 April 2010
The first thing I must say is that these are not playing cards, they are a set of "suggestions" for how to keep yourself and others entertained on a plane journey. It is obvious that these cards were produced before all the restrictions on what can be taken on to an aeroplane.

One thing the author of these cards didn't take into account is that there will be a plane full of people and they will probably not want to join in with a rousing chorus of "fly, fly, fly your plane" or a game of "what's in my hand".

I asked a friend how he keeps his three young boys occupied on the plane journeys to and from Australia and he said that you just treat it as normally as possible, trying to restrict the excitement so they don't get too hyperactive and take several comics and colouring books with you in your carry-on luggage.

These cards were given to me because I collect playing cards, and I have been spending a lot of time in hospital recently. The person who gave them to me thought I could adapt the suggestions on the cards to keep myself occupied.

I would recommend buying an ordinary pack of cards instead of these "suggestion" cards, but then again you may find them more helpful than I did.
review image review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse