Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
24
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 October 2009
I love all things Christmas and I am excited by this book! My children have worn out 1001 Things to Spot in the Sea and I know we're going to have a lot of fun with this year after year, even though they're getting a little old if I'm completely honest with myself (5,7,& 9). The pictures are bright and cheerful with all sorts of festive things to spot - 5 elves chopping wood and 8 reindeer in a snowy Christmas land, for example;6 snowy owls and 6 nutcracker men in a decorated Christmas tree forest; 8 toymaker elves and 6 red cars in Santa's workshop. The list is both endless and endlessly imaginative, so that each turn of the page bursts alive with a different wintery scene, ice-hockey and snowboarding, or a Christmas feast. There's even a tropical Christmas to ring the changes. Brilliant simple fun for advent and Xmas: Christmas 'spotting' will become an annual tradition.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
Wow! I am so pleased I purchased this book for my daughter, she is 3.5 and I was looking for a book that would introduce her to the fun of Christmas traditions from a non Christian perspective. This is the first Christmas she is able to anticipate what is going to happen, she can't remember last year, and this book is great for talking about it and what to expect and also some north pole themed pages such as a winter ball with elves and reindeer's and snowmen, and Mrs Claus baking in her kitchen which is really fun. Not only are the pictures detailed and entertaining, there is high educational value. I realised upon first looking at the book that she could correctly read several numbers which I wasn't aware of, we now do a page a night (she loves to chose the page) and after just a couple of weeks she is confidently reading the numbers 1-10, she is counting much more reliably and counting by rote less often. She is also remembering some of the names of the items she has to find, and recognises whether the name of the object has one word or two, e.g 'dazzled pixies/snowmen' she gets more practise this way than a story book as I use my finger to point at the words more often. I think this will be great to put away and bring out next year and will be enjoyed for several more years. I will definitely be getting more books from the 1001 Things to Spot series.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
My son (4) got bought this for Christmas. What an excellent present! My son loves Winnie the witch - one of the reasons being is the excellent illustrations with so many things to look at, so when he was given this I knew it would be great. The pictures are lovely and there are 10 sets of things to look for on each page. So this is great for observation and counting. We always have bedtime stories and then we pick a page at random to complete. We have now gone on to buy 1001 Wizard things to spot and 1001 Monster things to spot!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
A nice book. A few of the themed pages seemed to have a pretty tenuous link to Christmas. However its a nice book, good quality, and will be enjoyed by all kids that love to count.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
I bought this for my daughter in the run up to Christmas as we'd had the Wizard, Fairy & Pirate versions from the library in the past. Usborne doesn't disappoint with this one either. They produce wonderful books for kids & we've yet to be disappointed by any of their books. At 2 1/2 my little girl may be a bit small to be able to find all of the items on the different pages but she certainly likes to try. She's had it on her bed & looks at it most nights since we've bought it. The pictures are jam packed with loads of things to look at & plenty of things to find. Well worth it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Lovely book with different themes on each page. Items to find are different but the style of images is the same throughout (a good thing if you like it), however I would have preferred more cartoon style images.

Overall the book keeps my 9mth old entertained looking at the pictures and talking through it, and no doubt as she grows older it will occupy her as she tried to find all the items. I think this is a good book for all child ages and would not discourage people to get it. Good for teaching them to count and persist in spotting the items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
My son and I spent several hours looking at all the detailed pictures in this book together - it was the perfect introduction to Christmas for a 3 year old who wasn't sure what Christmas was before! The pictures are all cartoons which may not appeal so much to adults, but my son loved it! Will last many years to come and could be read to several children at once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Lovely, sweet and Christmassy ! On the downer a bit repetitive and when you start 'spotting' the item your looking they tend to be together on the page so there isn't a real challenge ?! Maybe my expectations are a bit high ..... I'm sure when my boy is older , he'll love it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
This is a perfect book for keeping children occupied and doesn't necessarily have to be used at Christmas time only. It doesn't even require a child to be able to read as it's simply a game of how many given items you can find on each page. Great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
These books are wonderful, my 5yr old son has quite a few of these books now and loves to do them at bedtime. Great with helping him to count and good for learning him to look carefully for things. I would recommend these books.xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse