Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
42
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2017
Great book, Not quite what I wanted for a project I'm building in a virtual World. But plenty of information That's been useful, and tabs are nice touch, but easy to tear, if not careful. Teens love opening tabs, like Christmas calenders, this is a good book for youngsters to learn all about Ra , Seth, and the wonders, and how the Egyptian ancients lived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
present for grandson and he loves it and he has been there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Well received and read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
good learning for kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the third from the series that I have bought, the other two being the Pirate and the Castle book.

This book in particular has many hidden gems behind the flaps, and there are a lot of flaps to find.

My favorite part and that of my son are the three flaps that describe how a mummy is made. We both love the description of how the internal organs are placed into jars and the brain pulled out from the nose by a hook, then the body immersed in salt to dry it out! Yuck factor of 10.

It actually sounds worse than it is but care should be taken with smaller children.

It is a robust book, it is superbly illustrated and the information it gives is top notch. The book gives hours of pleasure just finding the information.

It's a childrens history encyclopaedia but with a difference. For this price it is a bargain.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 December 2014
Achaeologically correct and detailed pictures, with lift up flaps, giving inside views and further information about the home life of the Ancient Egyptians. Something for a bright child to treasure and learn from.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
This is the third book in the collection we have bought for our 6 year old son. The others were ' Your Body ' and ' How things work' . He loved those two so when he was appearing as an Egyptian in his school play and wanted to know more about Egypt , I knew this would be a perfect book to do the job. The books are quite sturdy and the topics in this book are as follows..
Market Day
The mighty Nile
At the temple
How the rich live
Great pyramids
Royal burial
Egypt in ruins
Who was who
Each topic is spread over two pages, except the last two in the list..one page.
The book has over 70 flaps to lift with facts and some funny quips underneath. Very informative book with lots of detailed illustrations throughout but easy enough for a young child to understand. Our favourite is the section on pyramids which greatly explains how these amazing structures were built , a job so big my son can't get his head around it. I am very pleased with the book and actually enjoy sitting reading through it and talking about it with my son, more than I enjoy playing video games with him, which says a lot..I love video games :)
These books are great and there are so many different subjects in the collection so you will be sure to find something your child is interested in. I hope to have built up quite a collection of these by the time he's older
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
Our 6 year old loves these 'lift the flap' books, and with some of his best friends obsessing over all things Egyptian, it is thoroughly enjoyed - regularly!! Good content, educational and entertaining - great.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Given you cannot see books properly before buying, it is difficult to understand whether they were appropriate.
Hence you end up getting books which are disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
All the rest was there, written so that an able eight-year old could read on his / her own, and the text was on the witty side, but where was the Sphinx? And missing even more were the MUMMIES! For a child, Mummies are a very important part of (Egyptian) life, but in this book they are very mysteriously missing. I looked and looked in vain. Have I missed them somewhere, or has the author that Usborne commissioned made a faux pas?
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse